Shari's Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
DO NOT MAKE THIS IN A 9x13 PAN!!!!! Use an 8x8 or you'll be sorry! Cake came out barely an inch thick------abundance of topping-hard to rate.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I'd give this three stars as written but five with changes. I have the same recipe but everything on this one is halved. When you double your ingredients there is no need to double the eggs. I always make mine with 2. Also milk can be used in place of the half/half. Use 1 Tablespoon and 1 teaspoon baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
After reading the first 2 reviews, I doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 cake. That was the only adjustment I made and the cake turned out fine. Tender. Nothing extraordinary but yummy. My daycare kiddos liked it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I wish I had read the other review before I made this. There wasn't enough batter to fill the bottom of the 9*13 pan, let alone make two layers. I had to scrape it into a 8" cake pan and even then one layer was all I could do. I only used half the streusel. It did taste good, but there must be more accurate recipes out there. (My son says he would rate it a four, but he didn't have to make it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I made this after reading the reviews and decided to make it anyway. I thought is was great. So did my mom, my fiance and his brother. I suggest using 2/3 of the batter in a the pan suggested and dot the rest on top of the topping. It was not thick and cakelike as a tradional "coffee cake" is, but this was lite and delicate like a "streusel" should be. I have found a coffee cake recipe that i will always use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
flavor is good but too hard to make presentable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Overall I thought this was a really good coffee cake. I made a few changes though. I doubled the recipe because after reading many other reviews saying it wasn't thick enough, I decided to go ahead and do it. I added a half cup of sour cream to make it more moist and used milk instead of half-and-half. I got lots of compliments and I will definately be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was a quick and simple recipe that was quite delicious. Make sure to use a 8x8 pan and i used milk instead of half and half. For shortening I switched with butter and used about a tad more than 1/4 cup. I make a lot of dessert which I always use butter over other product since it give dishes better taste and moistness if your not to worried over calorie :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The taste was excellent. The recipe easy to follow. My only complaint was that in order to make a thick streusal cake we had to double the recipe. But thats easy. Great recipe. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I don't usually review a recipe if it is under a 4, but I feel that this recipe could be much better if you substitute butter for shortening. It is not quite so light, but has more body and a much better flavour. Of course this is a personal preference. Anyway, I will make it again with these changes and keep it in my files because it is a simple coffe cake very good eaten fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States