Shari's Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
DO NOT MAKE THIS IN A 9x13 PAN!!!!! Use an 8x8 or you'll be sorry! Cake came out barely an inch thick------abundance of topping-hard to rate.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I wish I had read the other review before I made this. There wasn't enough batter to fill the bottom of the 9*13 pan, let alone make two layers. I had to scrape it into a 8" cake pan and even then one layer was all I could do. I only used half the streusel. It did taste good, but there must be more accurate recipes out there. (My son says he would rate it a four, but he didn't have to make it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
After reading the first 2 reviews, I doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 cake. That was the only adjustment I made and the cake turned out fine. Tender. Nothing extraordinary but yummy. My daycare kiddos liked it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Eid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I made this after reading the reviews and decided to make it anyway. I thought is was great. So did my mom, my fiance and his brother. I suggest using 2/3 of the batter in a the pan suggested and dot the rest on top of the topping. It was not thick and cakelike as a tradional "coffee cake" is, but this was lite and delicate like a "streusel" should be. I have found a coffee cake recipe that i will always use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I doubled the recipe as well as other reviews suggested. For me, it was not that great. My husband however loved it and he would probably have given it a 5. He likes his coffee cake more dry and without sour cream so this was a big hit for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I'd give this three stars as written but five with changes. I have the same recipe but everything on this one is halved. When you double your ingredients there is no need to double the eggs. I always make mine with 2. Also milk can be used in place of the half/half. Use 1 Tablespoon and 1 teaspoon baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I don't usually review a recipe if it is under a 4, but I feel that this recipe could be much better if you substitute butter for shortening. It is not quite so light, but has more body and a much better flavour. Of course this is a personal preference. Anyway, I will make it again with these changes and keep it in my files because it is a simple coffe cake very good eaten fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I'm reviewing only the Streusel Topping, not the entire recipe. I was searching for a topping recipe to accompany some mini pear walnut spice cakes as a topping and using some of the streusel topping for a middle layer and topping on a pear walnut spice dessert bread. The topping was great. Easy, quick and had a good delicate flavor and nice balance of ingredients. It went great with my cake and was greatly enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The taste was excellent. The recipe easy to follow. My only complaint was that in order to make a thick streusal cake we had to double the recipe. But thats easy. Great recipe. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
double the recipe or use a 8x8 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States