Shari's Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
DO NOT MAKE THIS IN A 9x13 PAN!!!!! Use an 8x8 or you'll be sorry! Cake came out barely an inch thick------abundance of topping-hard to rate.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I wish I had read the other review before I made this. There wasn't enough batter to fill the bottom of the 9*13 pan, let alone make two layers. I had to scrape it into a 8" cake pan and even then one layer was all I could do. I only used half the streusel. It did taste good, but there must be more accurate recipes out there. (My son says he would rate it a four, but he didn't have to make it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
After reading the first 2 reviews, I doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 cake. That was the only adjustment I made and the cake turned out fine. Tender. Nothing extraordinary but yummy. My daycare kiddos liked it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Eid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I made this after reading the reviews and decided to make it anyway. I thought is was great. So did my mom, my fiance and his brother. I suggest using 2/3 of the batter in a the pan suggested and dot the rest on top of the topping. It was not thick and cakelike as a tradional "coffee cake" is, but this was lite and delicate like a "streusel" should be. I have found a coffee cake recipe that i will always use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I doubled the recipe as well as other reviews suggested. For me, it was not that great. My husband however loved it and he would probably have given it a 5. He likes his coffee cake more dry and without sour cream so this was a big hit for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I'd give this three stars as written but five with changes. I have the same recipe but everything on this one is halved. When you double your ingredients there is no need to double the eggs. I always make mine with 2. Also milk can be used in place of the half/half. Use 1 Tablespoon and 1 teaspoon baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I don't usually review a recipe if it is under a 4, but I feel that this recipe could be much better if you substitute butter for shortening. It is not quite so light, but has more body and a much better flavour. Of course this is a personal preference. Anyway, I will make it again with these changes and keep it in my files because it is a simple coffe cake very good eaten fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I'm reviewing only the Streusel Topping, not the entire recipe. I was searching for a topping recipe to accompany some mini pear walnut spice cakes as a topping and using some of the streusel topping for a middle layer and topping on a pear walnut spice dessert bread. The topping was great. Easy, quick and had a good delicate flavor and nice balance of ingredients. It went great with my cake and was greatly enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The taste was excellent. The recipe easy to follow. My only complaint was that in order to make a thick streusal cake we had to double the recipe. But thats easy. Great recipe. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
double the recipe or use a 8x8 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States