Shari's Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My family and I love this coffee cake! The cake is delightfully tender and flavorful. I substituted a little over 1/2 stick of butter for the shortening. Also, I'm glad I read other reviews because this recipe will not fill a 13x9" pan well. I used a Bundt pan and that was fine. Did not last one day in my house! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Very good. I liked that the ingredients were simple and didn't require a yellow cake mix,as so many recipes I looked at did. Is that a thing now? We also did not have sour cream on hand. My middle school aged son made this for a snow day breakfast and everyone wanted seconds. We did bake it in an 8×8 pan, as other reviewers suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I'm quite happy with this recipe. I doubled it, used milk instead of half and half because that's all I had and no nuts because I didn't have any. It's very tasty, goes great with tea or coffee. It's just a simple, basic coffee cake. Just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I was making this in a hurry for my daughter's class in the morning. One look after mixing the batter told me it was totally off. This may well taste OK in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Overall I thought this was a really good coffee cake. I made a few changes though. I doubled the recipe because after reading many other reviews saying it wasn't thick enough, I decided to go ahead and do it. I added a half cup of sour cream to make it more moist and used milk instead of half-and-half. I got lots of compliments and I will definately be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday for brunch and doubled the cake ingredients. It was terrible. Should have doubled the streusel mixture instead. Will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verdery

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I am making this now. After reading the reviews, I also used butter. The other change I made is instead of half & half, I used liquid hazlenut coffee creamer. I didn't have walnuts, so used pecans. I did put it in an 8x8 pan. Smelling pretty good. OK - done and cooled a bit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was a quick and simple recipe that was quite delicious. Make sure to use a 8x8 pan and i used milk instead of half and half. For shortening I switched with butter and used about a tad more than 1/4 cup. I make a lot of dessert which I always use butter over other product since it give dishes better taste and moistness if your not to worried over calorie :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
flavor is good but too hard to make presentable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
double the recipe or use a 8x8 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States