Sharese's Spaghetti Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I previously reviewed this recipe and I am back to add that I recently used Bacon Bits in this salad and they work great.They soften up almost immediately and give a nice flavor and texture.Also,you have to use the McCormick Supreme Salad Seasoning.It took me a while to find it but it is right with all the other spices at the grocery store.That is definately what makes this salad better than any other I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XBABYGIRL419X

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This is a great recipe! I made this last night and it was hit. The only thing I will do differently next time is to use a different type of pasta such as bowtie or penne. Even broken up, the spaghetti is a little hard to handle with fork when eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
We really love this recipe and have made it numerous times. Since I haven't changed anything in the last three batches, I'll share our modifications: 1. We use Rotini instead of spaghetti and specifically Barilla Plus Rotini. Really adds to the protein and fiber and is much easier for us to eat. 2.We also use Light Zesty Italian dressing to eliminate 2/3 of the calories from the salad dressing. 3. We use real crumbled bacon rather than frying it ourselves. I use 1 cup. (When my wife makes the recipe she uses pepperoni...I almost always volunteer to make it) 4. Finally, I use three tomatoes rather than two. We hope you find these modifications useful in your enjoyment of this wonderful pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I served this as at a party of mine and it was a huge hit! I prepared it the night before and let it sit in the fridge overnight as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I really liked this a lot. I made a bunch of changes based upon what was in the fridge/ cupboard though. I used bowtie pasta instead of spaghetti. I used bacon and hickory farms beef stick instead of all bacon because I didn't have enough bacon. I still didn't have enough meat so I added in some chunked up hickory farms cheeses. I used sun dried tomatoes instead of fresh in case people were nervous about eating fresh tomatoes due to the salmonella problems. I did find the Superme salad mix, but doubt I used a full 1/4 cup of it. I got a bottle of a tuscan dressing at trader joes and the salad really only need one 8 ounce bottle, IMHO. I dressed the salad with half, let it refrigerate over nite and then added the rest just before serving time. No parmesan since I had chucnk of cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This is very good! And I don't really like pasta salad. For those asking about the salad seasoning mix - I used McCormick's Salad Supreme - in the spice isle. I hope that was right. I also used real bacon pieces in the bag, and Newman's Parmesan and Roasted Garlic dressing. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This salad was awesome. I used the McCormic Salad supreme seasoning (in the spice aisle) as another reader suggested and it was great. Thanks Kari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJILL11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I halved the recipe and omitted the olives. Added extra parmesan cheese and a handful of chopped pepperoni. I like to save about 1/4 cup of dressing and coat before serving. I did use spaghetti but will try this with mini sea shells next time and chopped red roasted peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
When I make pasta salad from now on, this will be the recipe I use. Very good. I did use bow tie pasta and creamy italian dressing and it made for a pretty presentation, as well. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This salad was the biggest hit at my neighborhood picnic. Addults and children love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States