Sharese's Spaghetti Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. I think, like other reviewers have stated, I would make it with a different pasta type next time. I really did enjoy the bacon...I added extra too. I wouldn't have thought to put that in a pasta salad...good addition. ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
We really love this recipe and have made it numerous times. Since I haven't changed anything in the last three batches, I'll share our modifications: 1. We use Rotini instead of spaghetti and specifically Barilla Plus Rotini. Really adds to the protein and fiber and is much easier for us to eat. 2.We also use Light Zesty Italian dressing to eliminate 2/3 of the calories from the salad dressing. 3. We use real crumbled bacon rather than frying it ourselves. I use 1 cup. (When my wife makes the recipe she uses pepperoni...I almost always volunteer to make it) 4. Finally, I use three tomatoes rather than two. We hope you find these modifications useful in your enjoyment of this wonderful pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Wow...this is so good! I pan-fried the bacon, then added onion and garlic until cooked through. I tossed all of that with whole-wheat spaghetti, cucumber, tomatoes and olives, then a little bit of Italian dressing. Some of us added more dressing at the table. For most of us, a small amount already tossed in was enough. I served it with french bread, and I had no leftovers. Talk about easy AND good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Not a fan of the peppers. Not bad but tasted pretty standard. Nothing special. Bacon was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rollmeup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I changed this up to useup what I had on hand, PLUS make it a little more "italian". I used a chopped cucumber in place of the celery and used a quarter of a finely chopped red onion. I had some pepperoni slices I had to use up, so I chopped some of that up and threw that in. I didn't have salad seasoning mix, but I did use a bit of pepper. I did use 3/4 c. of zesty italian dressing and 3/4 c. of ranch dressing together as that's a favorite cold salad dressing of our family. Along with the Parmesan cheese, I used about 1/2. c. shredded mozzerella/provolone blend. Turned out GREAT. Really complimented the BBQ burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I really liked this a lot. I made a bunch of changes based upon what was in the fridge/ cupboard though. I used bowtie pasta instead of spaghetti. I used bacon and hickory farms beef stick instead of all bacon because I didn't have enough bacon. I still didn't have enough meat so I added in some chunked up hickory farms cheeses. I used sun dried tomatoes instead of fresh in case people were nervous about eating fresh tomatoes due to the salmonella problems. I did find the Superme salad mix, but doubt I used a full 1/4 cup of it. I got a bottle of a tuscan dressing at trader joes and the salad really only need one 8 ounce bottle, IMHO. I dressed the salad with half, let it refrigerate over nite and then added the rest just before serving time. No parmesan since I had chucnk of cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Everyone at the bbq liked this salad! I used a bottle of Bernsteins Cheese and Garlic Italian for the dressing. Also, I think if I could have found the mysterious "McCormick Salad Supreme" it would have improved this recipe, but, it was still good without it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I liked it - but I altered this recipe some for cooking ease, and to get the tastes just the way I like - for that I give it 3 stars. It did turn out wonderful, even when I didn't think it would because I came back from the grocery store without some ingredients, and with ingredient substitutions. It's a great recipe to inspire you to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I halved the recipe and omitted the olives. Added extra parmesan cheese and a handful of chopped pepperoni. I like to save about 1/4 cup of dressing and coat before serving. I did use spaghetti but will try this with mini sea shells next time and chopped red roasted peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
this was a quick and easy salad, every one commented on it at a my family BBQ how nice it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitianga, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States