Sharese's Spaghetti Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I read this recipe a couple times before making it. Since we have a big garden this year, I used my own fresh veggies. I substituted fresh, seeded cucumbers for the olives. The only italian dressing I had on hand was Good Seasons. DEFINITELY USE THE MCCORMICK SALAD SUPREME----it's loaded with celery seed, no msg and some sesame seed to give the salad the extra "zip" needed. It's not a salty spice, either---it's all flavor. Excellent salad and it only gets better after sitting for 24-48 hours in the fridge! --TCL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I wanted a salad that used spaghetti in it and I found this recipe which was rated pretty high so I decided to try it. I used real bacon bits to simplify the recipe and added cheese crumbles instead of the parmesan cheese. My only problem was I used Robusto Italian Dressing which I think made it to tart. Using McCormick's Salad Supreme gives it the kick you would want so next time I will use regular Italian-style salad dressing. Everyone did enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made this last night and it was a hit. I was thinking that this would be a good recipe to make variations on. Next time I am going to go for an asian theme...with the spaghetti add scallions, water chestnuts, pea pods, sesame seeds and ginger sesame dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chiloquin, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I've made this for years. The only thing different is that instead of bacon, I always toss in a "handful" of sliced mushrooms. The salad seasoning I use is Schilling Salad Supreme. This make a tremendous amount and goes over well at potlucks and BBQ's. Thanks for reminind me of this tried and true favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Ok, so I had to change this a some, but I saw it on my email 'daily recipe' and it sounded too good not to make even though I was missing some ingredients. I used most everything called for, celery, onion, tomatoes, bacon, pasta, except I used rotini pasta and sauted all the vegetables in a little of the bacon drippings, just until they were still slightly crunchy. Didn't have any olives, seasoning mix or the Italian dressing so I had to use a little dried basil and oregano( I threw the basil and oregano in with the vegetables while they were cooking along with a minced clove of garlic). Mixed that in the pasta, added Kens Lite Caesar dressing and used some shredded parmesan and not the dried stuff in the bottle. I ate it warm 'cuz' it smelled wonderful and I couldn't wait to try it. Probably would have been even better if I'd had all the right stuff. I'll be making this for the next pot-luck for sure, (according to the recipe though next time). It tasted great even with the substitutions I had to make. Thanks Karinichols.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
McCormick Salad Supreme is a must in this recipe! For some that discover it is difficult to find at the market, I've made my own by using equal parts Romano cheese, Sesame Seed and Poppy Seed, then adjusting the taste with the remaining ingredients of salt, paprika, celery seed, black pepper and red pepper. You're eliminating the Silicon Dioxide that you don't need in your diet! Shake well and store in a tight fitting container in a cool dry place. Shake more than you think you need on your salad and toss. It's quite a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Picky Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
McCormick's Salad Supreme is excellent for Pasta salad. I have been using it for about 20 years now. It is always a crowd pleaser. I still have a hard time finding it sometimes. It is always hidden amongst the other spices. Look hard:) Great recipe. My extremely picky 9 year old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I've made a different version of this recipe for years to take to potlucks or bbq's and people always ask for the recipe afterwards without fail. I do use the spaghetti noodles. The veggies I've added is any variety of bell peppers diced - I happen to prefer the red/orange/yellows best, baby carrots diced,and a package of cherry tomatoes halved. I've used off-brand salad supreme before and never have had a complaint, and always use the Wishbone Italian salad dressing. Oh, and I've not ever added the parmesan or bacon to this either. I have had people call me after parties to ask for the recipe, so unsure why bacon or cheese is even needed! Anyway, I'm sure it's a good base for adding/tweeking any veggies, but use the wishbone italian and salad supreme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. I think, like other reviewers have stated, I would make it with a different pasta type next time. I really did enjoy the bacon...I added extra too. I wouldn't have thought to put that in a pasta salad...good addition. ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
We really love this recipe and have made it numerous times. Since I haven't changed anything in the last three batches, I'll share our modifications: 1. We use Rotini instead of spaghetti and specifically Barilla Plus Rotini. Really adds to the protein and fiber and is much easier for us to eat. 2.We also use Light Zesty Italian dressing to eliminate 2/3 of the calories from the salad dressing. 3. We use real crumbled bacon rather than frying it ourselves. I use 1 cup. (When my wife makes the recipe she uses pepperoni...I almost always volunteer to make it) 4. Finally, I use three tomatoes rather than two. We hope you find these modifications useful in your enjoyment of this wonderful pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States