Shaped Vanilla Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
WOW, these were GREAT! I used butter instead of margarine, and I didn't make them into shapes. The taste was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is exactly the kind of sugar cookie I want! It's thick and chewy and soft and sweet and vanilla-y! These are great to eat by themselves or with frosting. My only complaint is that 3 cups flour was not enough for me. I had to flour the board quite a bit to be able to handle the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Simple to make and very tasty. I used better instead of margerine and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Just what I was looking for!! This recipe is great; it makes soft cutouts without chilling the dough. I did use real butter, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
The best cookie ever! I couldn't roll out the dough, it was too sticky but with frosting and sprinkles these are the best Christmas Cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These were okay, a little too salty for a cookie but edible. I tried to roll them out but they were way too sticky. Definitely not a cut out cookie recipe. I scooped with a small cookie scoop and they were so sticky they wouldn't let go of the scoop. They became deformed balls, so I had to put in the fridge for an hour and then make them look like balls. I will never make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
pretty good but be sure to follow the advice to use frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
These cookies turned out delicious! Though they were a little round and puffy. But still delicious. I didn't use frosting though as I thought that would make them a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very good. My father compared them to my late grandmothers. A wonderful compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chzheadgrl
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS OMG!!!!!! I GREW UP IN THE ITALIAN SECTION OF NEWARK, NJ, AND I USED TO BABYSIT FOR A NICE ITALIAN LADY WHO MADE THESE COOKIES ALL THE TIME. THE LOCAL BAKERIES EVEN HAD THEM, AND I ALWAYS WISHED THAT I KNEW HOW TO MAKE THEM. I CANNOT BELIEVE I FOUND THEM HERE!!! WHAT MAKES THEM "ITALIAN" IS THAT IS USES ALMOND EXTRACT AS OPPOSED TO VANILLA, AND WHEN STARTED TO MAKE THE DOUGH, I DECIDED TO TWEAK THIS RECIPE AND USE ALMOND EXTRACT INSTEAD, I AM GLAD I DID!! I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THESE AGAIN!! THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS RECIPE!! IT BROUGHT BACK LOTS OF MEMORIES FOR ME!! I ALSO USED BAKING POWDER INSTEAD OF THE BAKING SODA. I TOPPED THEM OFF WITH CONFECTIONER SUGAR GLAZE( CONFECTIONER SUGAR MIXED WITH MILK AND VANILLA EXTRACT) AND NONPAREL SPRINKLES. THEY WERE A HIT WITH MY FAMILY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jseidel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States