Shaped Vanilla Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Just what I was looking for!! This recipe is great; it makes soft cutouts without chilling the dough. I did use real butter, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
The best cookie ever! I couldn't roll out the dough, it was too sticky but with frosting and sprinkles these are the best Christmas Cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These were okay, a little too salty for a cookie but edible. I tried to roll them out but they were way too sticky. Definitely not a cut out cookie recipe. I scooped with a small cookie scoop and they were so sticky they wouldn't let go of the scoop. They became deformed balls, so I had to put in the fridge for an hour and then make them look like balls. I will never make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
pretty good but be sure to follow the advice to use frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
These cookies turned out delicious! Though they were a little round and puffy. But still delicious. I didn't use frosting though as I thought that would make them a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very good. My father compared them to my late grandmothers. A wonderful compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chzheadgrl
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS OMG!!!!!! I GREW UP IN THE ITALIAN SECTION OF NEWARK, NJ, AND I USED TO BABYSIT FOR A NICE ITALIAN LADY WHO MADE THESE COOKIES ALL THE TIME. THE LOCAL BAKERIES EVEN HAD THEM, AND I ALWAYS WISHED THAT I KNEW HOW TO MAKE THEM. I CANNOT BELIEVE I FOUND THEM HERE!!! WHAT MAKES THEM "ITALIAN" IS THAT IS USES ALMOND EXTRACT AS OPPOSED TO VANILLA, AND WHEN STARTED TO MAKE THE DOUGH, I DECIDED TO TWEAK THIS RECIPE AND USE ALMOND EXTRACT INSTEAD, I AM GLAD I DID!! I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THESE AGAIN!! THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS RECIPE!! IT BROUGHT BACK LOTS OF MEMORIES FOR ME!! I ALSO USED BAKING POWDER INSTEAD OF THE BAKING SODA. I TOPPED THEM OFF WITH CONFECTIONER SUGAR GLAZE( CONFECTIONER SUGAR MIXED WITH MILK AND VANILLA EXTRACT) AND NONPAREL SPRINKLES. THEY WERE A HIT WITH MY FAMILY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jseidel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This cookie is simply awesome!!... the first time i baked these cookies were when my husband was coming back home the next day from chicago. So i tried one in the middle of the night watching t.v. and thought that i wont eat any more then got up to get another one then another one and very soon i realised that i litrally ate 12 cookies i was simply addicted to them in the very first bite.... and was little hard for me to resist. Then i looked in that container i which i only had 5 more left then i had to stop. Next time i made this cookie was for my hubby to take it to his office and another person asked for the recipe... surely make this in future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
this is a great recipe, i used it to make "alfajores" which are kind of a cookie sandwich very popular in chile. I filled them with "dulce de leche" or manjar as we call it. You can do this boiling a can of sweetened condensed milk, there are recipes here that show you how. "caramel sauce" recipe is one of them. its not caramel though.. its really good. im freezing them now, after individually wrapping each in plastic wrap and putting in an airtight container. when i need them i will thaw at room temperature for like 20 minutes and fill them with manjar and dip in white and semisweet chocolate. they are a very good rich treat didnt make 24 cookies, made 60!!! IM GIVING IT A 4 because the dough was sticky and i had to chill it a bit, and add alot of flour to roll it out. the cookies was great though update: so, this isnt an alfajor type cookie so i dipped them and frosted them with melted chocolate.. sooo good. i will make my alfajores today though :) UPDATE! lol, im going to use these after all. it makes a havanna type alfajor. try it! i went out and bought an havanna alfajor just to see if i could use these cookies LOL!! i just loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
THE BEST sugar cookie recipe! Definitely a winner! I tried several.. all pretty good, but just not the texture I was looking for. This is a soft, cake-like cookie with great flavor. I didn't change any ingredients. Made the dough as directed, separated into 3 disks, stored in the fridge for a few days until I had time to cut them out. The dough is easy to work with and the cookies cut/bake beautifully. This will be my go-to recipe from now on! TIP: if you're really into making cut-out cookies or pie crusts, buy a good rolling pin w/cover and a pastry cloth. Cuts down on the amount of flour needed. Worth the cost and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States