Shannon's Smoky Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it goes fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Ken likes creamier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I'm a huge fan of smoked Gouda and I guess it didn't come through strongly enough for me. It calls for a large and expensive amount, too. I think I'll just keep my smoked Gouda on a cracker. I thought this was a nice, cheesy mac and cheese, but I've had better. I don't like spicy food, so I left out the cayenne pepper... maybe that was my failing. If I were to make this again, I would incorporate some mustard for a bit of zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Made this almost exactly the way the author wrote it (just swapped swiss cheese for Gruyere) and it was overall okay. The consistency was fairly grainy and I wouldn't include the parmesan cheese in the mix again - I would just use it for the topping. One bonus is that this reheats really, really well and makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made about 2/3 of the recipe and it was good! ... don't think you need as much topping as the recipe calls for ... could use some more salt and if I didn't have kids, I'd add a little kick. Will seem like there's too much sauce, but thickens up nicely in the oven. Used ff evaporated milk as I had some to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Not a great Mac and Cheese recipe. I didn't care for the texture the parmesan cheese gave the dish. I love all the cheeses in the recipe, so that wasn't the issue. It was runny after I cooked it and dry after refrigeration (which most mac and cheese is anyway). It makes a ton and is expensive. It definitely wasn't good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baslhicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic! The only change I made was swapping smoked paprika for cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
For the first time making mac & cheese from scratch, this recipe was clear and concise. However...the final dish was a bit bland tasting. I'm thinking, some seasoned bread crumbs next time. And rather than 1/2 cup of crumbs, I'll double that portion of the recipe. The crunchy topping was the tastiest part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved the consistency and flavor. Changed up the cheeses a bit to use what I had in my refrigerator and it tasted great. Good anytime recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Yum.....this is a keeper. It is important to read the chef's note which staes a typo, 1 1/2 C. bread crumbs and 1/2 t. cayenne. I had leftover ham so I popped in a cup or so of that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States