Shanibars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I think these are great and easy to adjust according to taste. Next time I'm going to up the dates or reduce the PB- also might reduce the cocoa. Skipped the salt. Wondering what a banana would do? Or some raisins? Think you can do some fun things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Punkintoze
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Everyone in the house gobbled them up! We are all gluten free and this was a very nice, relatively healthy treat! Before putting the mixture in the pan, I sprinkled coconut flakes in the pan and then pressed the mixture over it. Then I added more coconut flakes on top and pressed in. I also added raw almonds and raw cashews to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I made these today because I was given 2 huge boxes of dates, which I love. I found the recipe easy and straight forward, the mixture comes together nicely and cuts easily after refrigeration. They are very peanut buttery but very tasty. I only had sweetened coconut so I think on a second attempt, I will use slightly less peanut butter, and unsweetened coconut. Good though, good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NolaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe can easily be made low in sugar. I used unsweetened coconut and Trader Joe's all natural crunchy peanut butter. The dates are a natural sugar with a high amount of fiber. This was great! Not too sweet and satisfies the chocolate craving! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Super delicious treat!! My sis, my husband and I gave up having anything with added sugar for 30 days (started the 1st). I was really needing a treat besides fruit and this recipe did the trick. Super tasty. Hopefully other people that have made this used peanut butter without sugar and unsweetened coconut...I can only imagine how sweet it is if they didn't. I'm not a fan of dates normally, but all you taste in this in chocolate and peanut butter, with a nint of coconut. SO DELICIOUS! I can survive without sugar forever, now that I have found this. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I wouldn't agree that there is NO sugar in these, as the chopped dates are generally coated in sugar, commercial peanut butter has added sugar, and packaged coconut is usually sweetened. But they are excellent, and a much healthier choice than the traditional no bake cookies which have lots of butter & sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I subbed carob powder for the cocoa. There was no stickiness to these! Without a food processor, I just finely chopped the dates, and mixed everything together, then shaped into balls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Brilliant! We had an unexpected gluten free visitor and I just whizzed up this recipe as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I've made this recipe twice, using Jif Creamy PB. both times omitting the coconut & salt. The first time I used Sunsweet Whole Pitted Dates. Even though I didn't over mix, the mixture came out dry. I added a little extra PB, & that seemed to help. The bars turned out great, & were consumed quickly. So, today I made the second batch using Sunsweet Chopped Dates. These dates were obviously drier straight from the package (in retrospect probably better suited for wetter mixtures like cookie or muffin batter). I had to compensate with even more PB, which threw the overall flavor balance off. Other than using fresh dates (not easy to find where I live, I'd love ideas for how to improve the moistness when using packaged dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
These are FABULOUS! I especially like the fact that there is absolutely zero sugar. I never thought of using dates to sweeten my treats but you've sure made a believer out of me! Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States