Shanibars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
When I tried the recipe as is I found the peanut butter overpowered everything else (maybe because I used all natural peanut butter?). I ended up adding an extra cup and a half of dates (I used whole honey dates instead of chopped regular), double the coconut and cocoa and approximately 1 tbsp of unrefined coconut oil to keep it moist. I needed a large batch anyway so it worked out well. They were delicious and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Very good. Instead of putting the coconut in the food processor, I formed the mixture in to balls and rolled them in the coconut. They look a little nicer this way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Delicious and rich! I used dark cocoa and crunchy natural peanut butter. I was concerned that it needed a little additional sweetness so I added ~1 Tbsp turbinado sugar - next time I will skip this as it doesn't really need it. I used a tsp measuring spoon and shaped the mix into 36 smalls balls. I rolled them in very light confectioners sugar as well to take away some of the stickiness. Made this way the balls are 1 point each on Weight Watchers or 3 points for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Yummy. Reminds me of an Oh Henry bar! Next time I am going to try adding some rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Such a great protein based snack to grab-n-go! I have made these 3 times now and will always keep a supply in my fridge. It's a great alternative to protein bars that you buy in packages. I like that it's made with natural ingredients. I used organic peanut butter without high fructose corn syrup. And i use sweetened coconut. The family likes it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy B.
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Love this recipe! I have also tried it with figs instead of dates and it is delicious. to combat dryness, I add 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I used whole pitted dates, almonds instead of coconut. Tried to coat with coconut but not sticky enough. Used a commercial food processor. Tried adding more Adams peanut butter to no avail. Tasty but really messy to make and poor presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
delicious and so healthy!! my daughter loves them. i used almonds instead of coconut as suggested by someone( a healthy option) and made small balls rolled in dessicated coconut instead of bars. looked good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious! So healthy & Super easy to make. I am recently off sugar and would now choose to make these instead of a batch of cookies. Would suggest unsweetened coconut if you can find it. I made this into balls w/ my cookie scoop and they were not as sticky as I anticipated. I plan to double the recipe next time. Be careful if you are watching your calories - only pop a few balls a day! I can see these being addictive for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Used dry cherries instead of dates - yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States