Shanibars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I didn't care for the overpowering PB taste, but was using the all natural "Adams" brand ( isn't that why we try these recipes anyway? To be all natural/healthy?!) I like this idea, though, because of the endless possibilities. My bars never set up as I'd like, but I was using really expensive refrigerated dates. I'll try adding more coconut (because that awesome fruit needs to be tasted) and cocoa. Why not, I'll throw in some rice crispies like someone suggested as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The taste was amazing.i used chunky natural peanut butter only after the rest was blended in and that added a bit of crunch. Wonder what it would be like if I left the coconut flaked? Unfortunately, the mixture was sticky, so I had to make balls. Once chilled, they firmed up and disappeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I have wanted to make these for a while now but have no food processor, so I used my hand crank chopper/mixer. My children attend a peanut-free school so I had to substitute sun nut butter for the peanut butter. They did not stay together as well as I think they might have if I had a real food processor, so I formed them into balls - but they tasted great and my kids loved them! Definitely in the school lunch rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nola chic
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was a flop for me. I made this with Jiffy PB and sweetened coconut because that's what I had on hand. They never set up after I refrigerated them and they taste more like a rich PB goo. I used almost the whole box of chopped dates said 1 1/2 C. in box. Maybe using all the natural stuff would have been the better bet and not sweetened coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by algerta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Stream, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
added rice krispies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Sorry but these simply do not taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
These were pretty darn good! I used the Earth Balance coconut and peanut spread instead of peanut butter and made balls instead of bars, which were rolled in a mixture of two parts powdered sugar to one part cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyceia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I have made endless batches of these and everyone that tries them asks for the recipe. I cut the cocoa powder by 1 tbsp to make a less chocolate flavoured bar. Have tried with sea salt (sweet and slightly salty) and with out the sea salt (more PB/cocoa flavour). Both ways are very good. Look for a brick of dates that you can chop. Not as sticky then. I roll the bar out between 2 pieces of wax paper, place in fridge and then slice with a pizza cutter. I'd love to eat a full serving of them but who really needs that much. This allows smaller bars to be cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Such a treat, I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made according to the recipe and it is very good. Place in center of large piece of parchment, fold up the sides and chill, then cut into squares. Also made a batch with dried Kalamata figs, almond butter, coconut, roasted almonds and 2 scoops vanilla protein powder. Excellent! One tip: spritz your processor and blade with non-stick spray for easy clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States