Shanibars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Just made these, they are so delicious. Unfortunately, I didn't have any coconut so I used some chopped up almonds in place of the coconut. I also left out the salt and they were still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
These were delicious! I didn't add the salt and used sweetened coconut because that's all I had on hand. I was a bit leery about making these since I'm not a huge fan of dates but the flavors that come through most distinctly are the cocoa and peanut butter. Even my 1-year-old enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Really delicious! I used almond butter instead of PB. This is a great option for a high protein sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made these bars, didn't come out sticky, but maybe I mixed it too long. Besides that these bars are awesome, instead of six bars, I cut mine into smaller pieces and gave them to some very picky 6 and 7 year old girls and they devoured them without a problem. Thank you very much for this recipes. This is a new school and home favorite and the bonus is there is no sugar and kids think they are eating chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I subbed carob powder for the cocoa. There was no stickiness to these! Without a food processor, I just finely chopped the dates, and mixed everything together, then shaped into balls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made according to the recipe and it is very good. Place in center of large piece of parchment, fold up the sides and chill, then cut into squares. Also made a batch with dried Kalamata figs, almond butter, coconut, roasted almonds and 2 scoops vanilla protein powder. Excellent! One tip: spritz your processor and blade with non-stick spray for easy clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I've made this recipe twice, using Jif Creamy PB. both times omitting the coconut & salt. The first time I used Sunsweet Whole Pitted Dates. Even though I didn't over mix, the mixture came out dry. I added a little extra PB, & that seemed to help. The bars turned out great, & were consumed quickly. So, today I made the second batch using Sunsweet Chopped Dates. These dates were obviously drier straight from the package (in retrospect probably better suited for wetter mixtures like cookie or muffin batter). I had to compensate with even more PB, which threw the overall flavor balance off. Other than using fresh dates (not easy to find where I live, I'd love ideas for how to improve the moistness when using packaged dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These are excellent tasting bars. I keep some in my frig when I need a good "pick me up". I also take them to work to snack on. Definate keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Brilliant! We had an unexpected gluten free visitor and I just whizzed up this recipe as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious! So healthy & Super easy to make. I am recently off sugar and would now choose to make these instead of a batch of cookies. Would suggest unsweetened coconut if you can find it. I made this into balls w/ my cookie scoop and they were not as sticky as I anticipated. I plan to double the recipe next time. Be careful if you are watching your calories - only pop a few balls a day! I can see these being addictive for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States