Shanibars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Just made these, they are so delicious. Unfortunately, I didn't have any coconut so I used some chopped up almonds in place of the coconut. I also left out the salt and they were still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
These were delicious! I didn't add the salt and used sweetened coconut because that's all I had on hand. I was a bit leery about making these since I'm not a huge fan of dates but the flavors that come through most distinctly are the cocoa and peanut butter. Even my 1-year-old enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made these bars, didn't come out sticky, but maybe I mixed it too long. Besides that these bars are awesome, instead of six bars, I cut mine into smaller pieces and gave them to some very picky 6 and 7 year old girls and they devoured them without a problem. Thank you very much for this recipes. This is a new school and home favorite and the bonus is there is no sugar and kids think they are eating chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These are excellent tasting bars. I keep some in my frig when I need a good "pick me up". I also take them to work to snack on. Definate keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Really delicious! I used almond butter instead of PB. This is a great option for a high protein sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
These are FABULOUS! I especially like the fact that there is absolutely zero sugar. I never thought of using dates to sweeten my treats but you've sure made a believer out of me! Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I've made this recipe twice, using Jif Creamy PB. both times omitting the coconut & salt. The first time I used Sunsweet Whole Pitted Dates. Even though I didn't over mix, the mixture came out dry. I added a little extra PB, & that seemed to help. The bars turned out great, & were consumed quickly. So, today I made the second batch using Sunsweet Chopped Dates. These dates were obviously drier straight from the package (in retrospect probably better suited for wetter mixtures like cookie or muffin batter). I had to compensate with even more PB, which threw the overall flavor balance off. Other than using fresh dates (not easy to find where I live, I'd love ideas for how to improve the moistness when using packaged dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Brilliant! We had an unexpected gluten free visitor and I just whizzed up this recipe as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I subbed carob powder for the cocoa. There was no stickiness to these! Without a food processor, I just finely chopped the dates, and mixed everything together, then shaped into balls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I wouldn't agree that there is NO sugar in these, as the chopped dates are generally coated in sugar, commercial peanut butter has added sugar, and packaged coconut is usually sweetened. But they are excellent, and a much healthier choice than the traditional no bake cookies which have lots of butter & sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States