Shanghai Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Excellent salad, only change I made was to use sriracha sauce rather than red pepper flakes (I like it really spicy). I don't think I'll add the salt next time, the soy sauce has enough for me. this is really good either warm or cold. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used leftover spaghetti pasta for the noodles in this recipe. I liked the taste of the ketchup, sesame oil, soy sauce, brown sugar and lime juice. The salad does have kick due to the red pepper flakes and it was spicier the second day. This was good and I wouldn't hestitate to make again with extra pasta. Thanks tyansia for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Best thing about this recipe is that the ingredients are nice and simple compared to most asian recipes and the taste is very good. Not heavy or overly salty. I added some sauteed chinese cabbage as well as about a half teaspoon of powdered ginger (didn't have the fresh stuff). The ginger helps to add some good spice that some of the other reviewers seemed to be missing. Thanks! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was okay for us. The flavors seemed to clash a bit for us. I used wheat liguine, half the sesame oil and I tasted and thought it needed a little more sugar. It was a unique noodle salad but we probably won't be having again. I was really hoping to like it with all the yummy veggies in it and the unique sauce. I can't put my finger on what it was that we didn't like to try to change. Thanks for the recipe idea tho! I enjoyed making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
"Good first try" said my Chinese husband! Noodles too soft-I overcooked them. Next time, omit salt, since soy sauce has plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Really good! Used linguine as that's what I had. Only added 1 teaspoon of the salt(that was plenty). Next time I will add more veggies, cut them bigger and add cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Really good. Thanks for sharing. I made this a meal by adding cooked grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was really tasty. I used 8 oz of linguine since that's what I had, and it was the perfect amount of noodles to sauce. I julienned 1/2 a zucchini, and a 1/4 each of red and yellow peppers. Then I shredded 1 carrot and added 1/2 a bag of shredded cabbage. I wanted a little bit more of a sweet and spicy sauce vs a strong soy tasting sauce, so I added another teaspoon of brown sugar. I used low sodium soy sauce and key lime juice which was all I had. Very tasty, very healthy, will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Pretty good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgrims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
No.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States