Shanghai Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This salad is very good. I doubled the sauce recipe. I omitted the salt since salt in addition to soy sauce seemed excessive. I subbed sriracha sauce for crushed red pepper. Will make again. Thanks tyansia :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by etjones15
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
i've wanted to make this for so long, i finally did it!!! I do not regret it!! this was very easy and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Excellent. Really enjoyed this recipe tonight. I didn't have a few things I needed so I substituted the Chinese Noodles for Whole Wheat Fettuccine and Kosher Salt for 1/2 tsp of reg salt, and I cut back a bit on the Crushed Red Pepper flakes as well. Still quite nice with a summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cork1035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I love toasted sesame oil, but this seemed like way too much. So I added a bit at a time until it was just the way I like it. I added an extra squirt of lime juice cause it was just a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I like sesame oil, but this was way too much. It was totally overpowering. The idea is good, but the flavor is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
i used spaghetti noodles, omited the salt, and increased sauce to 1 1/2, because some said there wasnt enough sauce. i didnt have green onions or bell peppers. i ate it without chilling, because it looked delicious and i didnt want to wait. even though i omitted the salt, it was plenty salty. 1 + 1/2 is a little too much sauce. it was a little too sweet for my taste. update: after chilling in the fridge for a couple of hours, it taste alot better. it was alot less salty and the sweetness also lessened. this is a recipe that you MUST chill for a couple hours before serving so that the flavors get absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I made some homemade fettucine noodles instead of using the Chinese noodles. I had no peanuts on hand, but think that would make a good topping for this. Next time, I will add some grilled chicken to the salad for my carnivorous husband. Good flavor, easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This was DELICIOUS! I added some cabbage for some extra crunch and it was perfect. We ate this as a side dish with chicken kabobs and it made a great meal. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Restaurant quality dish. I used udon noodles b/c it was what they had at the store. I also used 1/4 tsp of Sriracha sauce instead of the chili flakes. I took this to a BBQ, and it was the first dish to go. People wanted seconds, and it was already gone. Next time I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Loved this tasty cold noodle salad, perfect for summer BBQ's. I used whole wheat spaghetti. I did double the sauce, and skipped the added salt. Unlike most noodle salads I make, I felt this tasted best freshly dressed, I served the next day too, and but could barely taste the dressing. Love all of the colorful veggies in this. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, tyansia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States