Shandong Chinese Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very tasty and easy to make. Definitely great with beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandyLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Not much taste. My wife is from Hong Kong and didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
The recipe doesn't say if you need to remove the chicken skin or not. I decided to leave it on, and the horseradish coating just slid off during the cooking time. The skin had a little bit of flavor but not much; the chicken meat tasted no different to me at all. Blah. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Pretty good. I hate it when people change the whole recipe, but I was a bit nervous about other reviews saying it was bland so I added my litle touch. I added a couple shakes of dry mustard and dill weed(maybe 1/2 tsp?)and 1/2 tsp curry paste. Could have added more curry paste as I could not taste it. I cooked in my toaster oven at 375 degrees for one hour and 5 minutes. I put over rice and spooned the cooking juices over the rice. Turned out pretty good but may try to add other ingredients next time. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Followed the recipe to the letter but found it to be on the bland side in spite of the horseradish & vinegar. Took way longer than 45 minutes to cook. Not sure what size leg quarters would be baked in that time frame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
very, very good! great flavor, but it did need to bake alittle longer than 45 mins. it also needs about 5 mins. under the broiler like another reviewer wrote. i may try it with a little less water so the sauce isn't so runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
I had imagined this thick sauce clinging to the meat as it baked, but it was more liquidy, almost like a braise, only not as much liquid as a braise. The sauce was fairly tasty, but it seemed like the chicken just sat in it and the flavor didn't permeate the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
I was looking for a new way to do some chicken leg quarters I had defrosted for dinner, and this was INCREDIBLE!! Needs to cook longer than 45 minutes though!! Also, browning the chicken under the broiler for about 5 minutes in the end gives it a nice crispness to the skin!! The sauce is WONDERFUL!! Sweet and tangy. We are going to try the same sauce for ribeye and chicken wings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States