Shandong Chinese Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Very quick and easy recipe! I made using 8 chicken thighs, followed as written, and turned the broiler on for an extra couple of minutes to crisp up the skin at the end. They turned out moist and delicious. The flavor was a little mild for us; I may add more horseradish or seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was not at all exciting to eat, very bland. Based on other reviews, I omitted the water in hopes of concentrating the flavor - didn't work. I will not bother with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very tasty and easy to make. Definitely great with beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Despang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Not much taste. My wife is from Hong Kong and didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
The recipe doesn't say if you need to remove the chicken skin or not. I decided to leave it on, and the horseradish coating just slid off during the cooking time. The skin had a little bit of flavor but not much; the chicken meat tasted no different to me at all. Blah. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Pretty good. I hate it when people change the whole recipe, but I was a bit nervous about other reviews saying it was bland so I added my litle touch. I added a couple shakes of dry mustard and dill weed(maybe 1/2 tsp?)and 1/2 tsp curry paste. Could have added more curry paste as I could not taste it. I cooked in my toaster oven at 375 degrees for one hour and 5 minutes. I put over rice and spooned the cooking juices over the rice. Turned out pretty good but may try to add other ingredients next time. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Followed the recipe to the letter but found it to be on the bland side in spite of the horseradish & vinegar. Took way longer than 45 minutes to cook. Not sure what size leg quarters would be baked in that time frame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
very, very good! great flavor, but it did need to bake alittle longer than 45 mins. it also needs about 5 mins. under the broiler like another reviewer wrote. i may try it with a little less water so the sauce isn't so runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
I had imagined this thick sauce clinging to the meat as it baked, but it was more liquidy, almost like a braise, only not as much liquid as a braise. The sauce was fairly tasty, but it seemed like the chicken just sat in it and the flavor didn't permeate the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
I was looking for a new way to do some chicken leg quarters I had defrosted for dinner, and this was INCREDIBLE!! Needs to cook longer than 45 minutes though!! Also, browning the chicken under the broiler for about 5 minutes in the end gives it a nice crispness to the skin!! The sauce is WONDERFUL!! Sweet and tangy. We are going to try the same sauce for ribeye and chicken wings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States