Shakshuka Middle Eastern Breakfast Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
More authentic on pita. when I make this, I use a cast iron skillet, cook the chopped tomatoes, with onions, garlic, cumin, garam masala, turmeric off to one side of the skillet. then on the other side, I will break 2 eggs: separate from the tomatoes so they won't get goopy. I'm not a fan of goopy eggs either. There the eggs will fry and cook throughly. I will transfer the fried egg onto the pita and then scoop up the tomato mixture and surround the egg with it. Salt and pepper the egg if you desire. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ftica79
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I loved it simply delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I followed the author's suggestion and added some spices to this - dry roasted cumin and paprika before adding the onions. It turned out to be a wonderfully tasty, fragrant dish. As written, it's excellent, but it's also delicious finished under the broiler with some mozzarella on top, and if you don't have zucchini, finely diced eggplant works well, too. A beautiful and simple recipe, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Delicious and simple. We had it with some toast but would also probably be good with tortillas or naan. Next time I might add a bit more liquid because our lid on our skipper doesn't work very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Delicious! My oldest daughter is the only one of us who likes soft eggs, and she was so excited that I made this for her. She added in a handful of black beans, and declared it "perfect"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I think this is a dish one would have to have grown up on, or appreciate the health benefits of the ingredients, putting taste aside. I normally cut salt in half on recipes, but with this one I ended up using 2 pinches instead of one to give the tomato and zucchini mixture more flavor. It was like a hot bland zucchini salsa. After I started it I realized the eggs were not scrambled and just directly broke onto the vegetables. That was a real turn off for me, but I decided to follow the recipe exactly. The wells kept filling up with tomato fluid not making it exactly easy or attractive. After nearly 2 1/2 times the cooking time for the eggs the whites were still half uncooked on top. I finally removed them from the heat to avoid over cooking the yellow. I didn't like the apperance of the uncooked egg whites as they flooded in with the tomato mixture either. I wished I wouldn't have wasted my good garden vegetables, as most all of it got tossed, as no one would eat it. I don't know how all of the ingredients are good, but not together? But, just thinking about this dish gives me a tummy ache with the idea of the mix of very raw liquidy eggs floating on top of bland vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Oh my was this good! I cut the recipe down for 1, and one egg is enough for me. It was a little harder to cook just one egg though in the smaller amount of tomato as I couldn't make a "well." But the taste was fantastic! I topped with some fresh ground pepper and a side of toasted whole wheat bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Made this for dinner the other night. Did not have zucchini, but used a diced red pepper. Spices that are good in this are paprika, cumin, thyme, chili or red pepper flakes. Do a bit of experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Loved this dish. My husband lived in Israel during the 70"s and remembered this dish fondly. We have enjoyed this for both breakfast and a light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I make this using fresh tomatoes (peeled and cut up). I add lots of basil instead of the hot pepper sauce, and call it Eggs Provencale. I plan to try adding jalapenos from my garden next time, as I never thought of the hot pepper sauce idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shakshuka

Eggs gently poached in a robust tomato-pepper sauce.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States