Shaker Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
MANY YEARS AGO THIS WAS MY DAD'S FAVORIE PIE. AFTER HE PASSED AWAY I QUIT MAKING IT. AS THANKSGIVING WAS JUST A FEW DAY AWAY I STARTED TO THINK OF WHAT PIES I WAS GOING TO MAKE. THEN I FOUND THE RECIPE UNDER LEMON PIES. I MADE IT AND IT WAS WONDERFUL. BROUGHT BACK OLD MEMORIES. I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN. THERE ISN'T ANOTHER LEMON PIE WITH THIS MUCH LEMON TASTE. THANKS FOR SUBMITTING IT. GRANNYROB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
The lemon rind presents a bit of a texture issue with this recipe. I really love lemon so for me it was not a problem. But for others who are not as enamoured with lemon, this is probably not the best lemon pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This pie had a texture issue with me as well. It has a wonderful lemon taste, but I think next time I may shred the lemon peel(zest)and then slice the lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I used 3 lemons (as suggested in a very similar recipe on this site) very finely sliced, finely shredded the zest and used half of a lemon's worth in the actual recipe, I used shortcrust pastry sheets store-bought and I let my lemon/sugar mixture sit o/night in the fridge. I love lemon but I would suggest to go with 2 smallish lemons or perhaps 1 large one (all of mine were much larger than tennis balls..). I didnt mind the texture like this - but I could still see it would be better if you put your mixture in the blender before you make your pie in my opinion. Using 3 large lemons this was extremely tangy, but would be lovely if you put a couple of scoops of vanilla ice-cream with it when you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This pie was super easy to make and tasted wonderful. I think next time I will use only the zest and juice from 3 or 4 lemons, I was not crazy about the lemon chuncks. Also I will use a 9 in deep dish pie crust, the regular crust was too small and I could not use all the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I have made the shaker lemon pie many times for my children when they were growing up. They thought it was greatest because of the rind. It is tender, chewy, and delicious. It is a change from the pudding type lemon pie. Thank you for having it listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I found this very bitter the lemons must be sliced with some sort of slicing maching it is nearly imposible to get the right thickness just using a knife. When left over night the lemons became very watery and did evaporate after the pie was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
fantastic! this is my dad's favorite, and tastes just like the "real thing" (that i hated when i was little(r)). its very simple to make, too. i think i usually use 3 lemons, and a little less sugar b/c we like it more tart...slicing wasn't impossible, but i bought a mandoline for the slicing soon after my first one :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etroskipay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I thought this pie was a bit too sweet when made using the exact recipe. Also would have preferred it a bit more tart. My husband did not care for the texture and neither did I. If I made this again, it would definitely require a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
All in all, this is an old, classic Shaker recipe... perhaps an acquired taste (given the texture/consistency), but most definitely an excellent pie. You may want to try using 3 lemons, and slice them paper-thin using a mandoline (rather than attempting to slice with a knife). Can adjust the thickness down with the mandoline. If the lemons are sliced too thick, there's a bitter aftertaste associated with the lemon rind; if sliced thinly enough, the taste is perfectly tart...and a nice balance with the sweetness of the sugar. Also, try adding a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of vanilla to the wet ingredients. Also, MUCH, MUCH better by leaving the sliced lemons/sugar mixture to marinate overnight (stirring occasionally)...rather than just a couple of hours; greatly improves the flavor. Brush the top of the pie crust with a bit of beaten egg...will make the crust more golden-colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States