Shaker Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I like the taste, but not the consistancy. (sp?) Like other reviewers said, I will use the pulp and zest only. It was too bitter for me. My lemons weren't paper thin, so I ended up blending the lemons along with the eggs. Much to my surprise, my husband loved it. Good for him, he'll be eating the rest of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I did the Martha Stewart version of this and it was perfect. The difference was 4 lemons and 6 eggs. It's important to slice the lemons very thin and make sure that the seeds are removed. Any of the tough veins in the lemon should also be removed. It is a very good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I recently discovered this pie and LOVE It, but I feel this recipe needs a little tweaking/clarification. The lemons do need to be see-through Paper Thin or the texture will be chunky and the taste too bitter. I usually let them macerate in the sugar for a full 24 hours on the counter, at this point the pith turns almost clear, instead of an opaque white. Also I stir in 1-3 T (depending on how juicy the lemons are) of flour into the mixture before baking to help it from being so runny. It's not a lemon pie for the faint of heart, it's actually reminiscent of a very tart lemon marmalade in a pie crust, but for those who love citrus...Oooh is it wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My mother has this recipe in a huge, weathered leatherbound cookbook that's been in our family for generations. She once served it at a dinner party she hosted; a week later she received a package in the mail, containing a solid silver pie server, and a note which read: "For the best lemon pie I've ever had!" It was from a guest whom she barely knew. Our version is a little different; it uses three lemons which must be peeled and the whites removed. It is slightly more laborious, but it doesn't have to sit overnight; one can simply mix the ingredients and pop it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
All in all, this is an old, classic Shaker recipe... perhaps an acquired taste (given the texture/consistency), but most definitely an excellent pie. You may want to try using 3 lemons, and slice them paper-thin using a mandoline (rather than attempting to slice with a knife). Can adjust the thickness down with the mandoline. If the lemons are sliced too thick, there's a bitter aftertaste associated with the lemon rind; if sliced thinly enough, the taste is perfectly tart...and a nice balance with the sweetness of the sugar. Also, try adding a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of vanilla to the wet ingredients. Also, MUCH, MUCH better by leaving the sliced lemons/sugar mixture to marinate overnight (stirring occasionally)...rather than just a couple of hours; greatly improves the flavor. Brush the top of the pie crust with a bit of beaten egg...will make the crust more golden-colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I thought this pie was a bit too sweet when made using the exact recipe. Also would have preferred it a bit more tart. My husband did not care for the texture and neither did I. If I made this again, it would definitely require a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
fantastic! this is my dad's favorite, and tastes just like the "real thing" (that i hated when i was little(r)). its very simple to make, too. i think i usually use 3 lemons, and a little less sugar b/c we like it more tart...slicing wasn't impossible, but i bought a mandoline for the slicing soon after my first one :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etroskipay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I found this very bitter the lemons must be sliced with some sort of slicing maching it is nearly imposible to get the right thickness just using a knife. When left over night the lemons became very watery and did evaporate after the pie was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I have made the shaker lemon pie many times for my children when they were growing up. They thought it was greatest because of the rind. It is tender, chewy, and delicious. It is a change from the pudding type lemon pie. Thank you for having it listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This pie was super easy to make and tasted wonderful. I think next time I will use only the zest and juice from 3 or 4 lemons, I was not crazy about the lemon chuncks. Also I will use a 9 in deep dish pie crust, the regular crust was too small and I could not use all the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States