Shaker Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I love this pie! Just like the one we had at Shakertown (Pleasant Hill) in Kentucky! I made it with lemons from my own little tree and eggs from my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Craig
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The recipe is great, but including the pith makes this pie quite tart. I enjoyed it though. I think I'd like to try making it with cuties instead of lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I loved it!! If you love lemons you'll love this pie. I did add 2 tablespoons of cornstarch because there was just so much juice. It turned out perfectly. Gotta have ice cream or whipped cream with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I did everything according to the directions except, as some readers suggested, I used three lemons instead of two. I let the lemons and sugar stand for a full 24 hours as many readers suggested. The result was quite literally inedible. Even though I had sliced the lemons very thin in a food processor, and even though I had let them sit in the sugar for 24 hours, the peels still were very bitter and ruined the taste. Huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I rated it 5 stars, not based on my love for the recipe, but because the recipe is what it is...a Shaker Lemon Pie! It may not be my favorite lemon pie, but there is nothing wrong with the recipe, it is supposed to taste like this. I changed it a tad, I used 3 lemons and added 1/3 cup of sugar and used 5 eggs. I wanted a thick pie, I don't like thin fillings. After 24 hrs (no way would I bake this pie after it sitting only 4 hrs) I ran it through the blender to reduce the size of the pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This pie had a texture issue with me as well. It has a nice lemon taste, except for the bitter taste from the rind. I may not have sliced the lemon thin enough. The recipe should probably say paper thin slices of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I just learned from cooks country show on tv to have success with the recipe that you should: slice lemons very very thin using a serrated knife; after removing pits, squeeze out and save lemon juice before putting/cooking lemons in water for 5 mins (this eliminates the need to let stand 4 hours/overnight). It will also improve texture. Put juice with 2 tbsp cornstarch, the sugar. and eggs Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've tried every pie pastry crust recipe w/o success. This was NO exception. Loose, messy and nearly impossible to transfer to plate.It looks just like all my failures. I even have a marble rolling pin...no help there. I gave it 2 star rating only because it tasted good in my Shaker Lemon pie. Thank Gof for Marie Callender's ready made crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really different and tasty! The texture could be a problem with some people as it was in my house-some liked it and some didn't. I plan on trying this by blending the whole thing up until smooth just before I bake it. The flavor is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
absolutely fantastic! followed the recipe almost to a tee. only difference was i used a hand mixer to sort of puree the lemon rinds! will make again. very very rich! i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States