Shahi Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Delicious, easy, I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was delicious! Very east to make (homemade paneer is easy to make, too!). The only thing keeping it from being 5 stars is that the spice level here is very very mild. I would at least double the amount of spices used here to give it more of an Indian flavor. Nonetheless, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was good, I definitely ate all of it within a two day span. I did give some to a friend and sister, and they LOVED IT. I made some modifications: I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of the fresh pureed, which I found made it too tomato-y. I added more cream to balance out the thick tomatoes, and didn't have to adjust the spice balance. It was perfect. Since I didn't want to eat too much fattening dairy, I used chickpeas instead of paneer, and it was just as delicious. Will use this recipe again, only I will follow the exact directions with the tomatoes! Or...use only half a can of crushed rather than the whole darn thing at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was really good. I used diced tomatoes and 1/2 can (about 7 ounces) of tomato sauce instead of the tomatoes (no pureeing) and used 1/2 Half and Half and 1/2 evaporated skim milk instead of the cream to bring down the calories. I also added some potatoes in with the tomatoes because I didn't have that much paneer on hand, and it was delicious and a bit heartier. I found it slightly bland, so I added about 1/2 tablespoon of Garam Masala to kick it up, which immediately did the trick. Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
My whole family loves Indian food and we eat at various Indian restaurants frequently. My son finally got the courage to try his favorite dish, shahi paneer, at home. This recipe was good, but not great. After searching other similar recipes and experimenting, we found it is missing a key ingredient which gives it it's special flavor: garam masala. Near end of cooking we add 1/4 - 1/3 teaspoon of this and it is fantastic. Also, most shahi paneer recipes include a couple tablespoons of cashew paste. You can make this by soaking approx 12 cashews in boiling water, draining, then pounding into a paste. Lastly, for a creamier sauce like in restaurants, increase water or cream/milk by a cup and lightly puree prior to adding paneer. With a couple tweaks, this is a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepybuddhabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I've been trying to find this recipe that actually tasted right. This is the closest I've come! It was excellent! I added 1/2 t. garam masala, 1/4 c. chicken broth, peas, and some crushed red pepper. Will add more crushed red pepper next time as I think it could use more spiciness to it. But so, so happy to finally find a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very tasty dish. I made this with homemade paneer (Rasgullas recipe), but you need about 2l milk to prepare paneer. I served this with rice, everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Annette
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great recipe...I just added a few veggies to my dish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Made this tonight, quick, yet still holds authentic flavour, will make again for sure. Only change was the use of pureed tomatoes instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very good. I have to say though, I had a vague idea of what went into pneer and when my unopened litre of milk started to curdle i just put it straight into a clean cloth and ended up with something a bit like cream cheese (I left out lemon or vinegar!), very creamy and not sour at all. Then i followed this recipe after searching for something to make with my paneer look-alike and ended up with a very tasty curry :) thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pietermaritzburg, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States