Shahi Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
LOVE this recipe. It's the first base for a curry I've found that tastes like restaurant quality. I've changed paneer to chickpeas + peas to make it a bit healthier. It's still DELICIOUS. I double the spices, put 1.5 times the garlic, and use half a can of crushed tomatoes instead of fresh for convenience. The rest is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was good. I used half paneer and half chick peas. I found that the spices needed to be doubled for my taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great recipe! I doubled the spices and threw in some chickpeas and frozen spinach when I added the tomatoes. Will definitely make again. Served it over brown rice and with naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megbarry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I've been trying to find this recipe that actually tasted right. This is the closest I've come! It was excellent! I added 1/2 t. garam masala, 1/4 c. chicken broth, peas, and some crushed red pepper. Will add more crushed red pepper next time as I think it could use more spiciness to it. But so, so happy to finally find a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
this was great! my homemade paneer unfortunately disintegrated in it, but the flavor of the dish more than made up for it! absolutely delicious. definitely a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I added 1 c. of peas to give it more color. And I used 1/2 c. of heavy cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizlgw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was delicious! Very east to make (homemade paneer is easy to make, too!). The only thing keeping it from being 5 stars is that the spice level here is very very mild. I would at least double the amount of spices used here to give it more of an Indian flavor. Nonetheless, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was really good. I used diced tomatoes and 1/2 can (about 7 ounces) of tomato sauce instead of the tomatoes (no pureeing) and used 1/2 Half and Half and 1/2 evaporated skim milk instead of the cream to bring down the calories. I also added some potatoes in with the tomatoes because I didn't have that much paneer on hand, and it was delicious and a bit heartier. I found it slightly bland, so I added about 1/2 tablespoon of Garam Masala to kick it up, which immediately did the trick. Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Delicious, easy, I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Made this tonight, quick, yet still holds authentic flavour, will make again for sure. Only change was the use of pureed tomatoes instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States