Shaggy's Perfect Martini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I don't know what a 'classic' martini should taste like, but this martini is just perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Good recipe but not great. Toooo much Vermouth, I just swish the Vermouth around in the mixung glass then pour it out, add the ice then Good Bombay Gin. Stir gently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
A gin martini is the only kind I like!!! Add a cpl drops of olive juice, if you like, and make it a "dirty martini." Bafferts gin is sublime. Happy martini holidays!! Brooke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bnewsam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This martini does have a nice ratio. But really, no good martini with olives only has one olive. I always use 3 and have fun with the stuffing (depends on what the finger food is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Martini is my drink of choice before dinner and also love anchovy stuffed olives. Keep my vermouth in spray container - when martini is in glass I spray a mist over drink then stir. One thing that is missing from all reviews - even from bartenders! The "perfect" martini is made with 80 proof gin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerilyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
A great base for a good martini! I left out the olives and added 1/2 ounce of cherry juice instead. Wonderful taste and light pink color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I'm an 80 year old martini lover. The oldest recipes were two parts vermouth to one part gin, I prefer four parts gin to one of vermouth and I prefer Noilly Prat over Martini-Rossi or Boisierre. Any good gin will do. some say the name came because it was first served at an inn in Martinez, California. Others think it was named for the fine and powerful British Army Rifle, the Martini. The Martini rifle had a powerful "kick" and so does a good Martini cocktail. This recipe is 8 to 1 and a bit drier than I like, but it is a good one. If you like this, try a bit more vermouth at least once. Ask me about my cousin Elizabeth's choice of vermouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
A true classic. One hint i have is to keep your gin in the freezer. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Perfect martini, 1 1/2 oz. Gin or vodka. 1/2 oz. sweet vermouth, 1/2 oz. dry vermouth and very important 2 dashes angostura bitters. 3 anchvy stuffed green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
As near perfect as you can get.Garnish with two olives stuffed with Jalapeno.OOOOOOOO SOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vodka Martini Cocktail

See how to make a classic vodka martini.

Kahlúa Espresso Martini

See how to make an espresso martini with vodka and Kahlua.

Cranberry Martini

See how to make a festive, colorful vodka cocktail for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States