Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I am a challah lover from way back. I LOVE this recipe!! I make mine with poppy seeds or raisins. Will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is fabulous. I have made Challah for years but never found a recipe I was totally happy with. This one is crusty on the outside but not dry inside and it has great flavour. It makes two humongous loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was really good. I scaled the recipe down to 15 and replaced half the flour with whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 cup wheat germ. It was soft, moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a fabulous recipe. I tried the other Challah I recipe first because it had more reviews, but then I decided to try this one because of the shorter prep time. This one is definitely moister and more flavorful, which is especially good considering it takes less time. I did add a few swirls of honey and used poppy seeds instead of sesame seeds, but other than that I followed the recipe. This recipe does make A LOT of dough. I ended up with two huge braided loaves (did the 6-braid). Next time I think I'll cut it in thirds to have three more managable loaves. Great recipe; even my in-laws (who grew up with homemade challah) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely 5 stars for the looks !! i will try submit a photo later , this was a beauty when it came out of the oven. I halved the recipe,braided the dough into one huge loaf, sprinkled sesame on one side and poppy seeds on the other .I like the taste, too, actually even better the next day .I will have to agree with the others tho, in the sense that this is too dense to be 'Challah'. I, also was looking for an eggier, airier Challah ..Thanks a lot for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I have been searching for a great challah recipe for years. With my daughter's Bat Mitzvah pending the search went into high gear. This was the recipe we baked for her big day. We mixed and braided the dough a week before the event. The day before I defrosted and baked the challah. It came out wonderful. People raved about it. My daughter had another thing to be proud of at her Bat Mitzvah because she was able to tell everyone there she and her mother baked the fabulous challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was a hit at the dinner I brought it to last night. I looked up how to do the 6 strand braid and it's really worth the trouble. Here's the link: http://youtube.com/watch?v=22p3wIHLupc I halved the recipe to make 1 braided loaf and it was huge! I think I will make 2 next time out of the halved recipe. Many Challah recipes have poppy seeds on them instead of sesame seeds, so if you have those on hand you can substitute it. This bread is really good to dip in hummus and other dips and it looks great for serving! Other than the six piece braid, you can make a wreath by 3-strand braiding, and where it connects, make a bow out of dough. It's beautiful to serve with a dip in the middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Cons: When I scaled the recipe by half, something must have happened because the dough was a huge sticky mess. I'm not even sure how much extra flour I ended up adding just so I could try and do something with the dough, but it was a lot. That kind of annoyed me because I'm not a great baker and I like to follow the directions exactly. However, this dough was such a mess there was no way I could shape it at all if I didn't just keep throwing in more flour. The taste was good, very adequate, but not what I was hoping it would be so I will probably try other recipes to see if I have better luck. Pros: Like I said, the taste was perfectly fine and it made nice French toast. This loaf also looked amazing when I took it out of the oven which is a miracle, since the dough was still sticky enough that I had a hard time braiding it and just assumed it was going to look like a big lump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but this did not turn out for me, I will try another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Maclean-Mosher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Wow! This came out like the real thing! I am not much of a baker. So, I was so surprised to see this bread come out of my oven! Absolutely beautiful in both appearance and texture. I do agree that more sugar or some honey would be nice. I like my challah just slightly sweet. This ends up being very neutral. I also have to say though that I would not classify this recipe as easy. It is a simple recipe, but kneading the dough for 10 minutes was a work out for me. It could have something to do with being 7 months pregnant, maybe I'll try the kitchenaid next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States