Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by momofmy4crazykids
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was really good, the directions were great and easy to follow. The bread turned out beautiful, thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is the first time I have made Challah and this recipe was amazing. My husband says it is the best challah he has ever eaten. I will definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I used 6 cups whole wheat flour and six cups white flour and the result was still great. I was worried the texture might suffer but it was still dense (but not too dense) moist and delicious. I ended up making 5 challah loaves and 7 challah buns, which means I've got enough to last me for a good few weeks! I froze them right after they cooled but next time might try freezing them after they're braided, before they rise the second time. That way I can have really fresh challah on demand each shabbos. I also threw in some chocolate chips to a couple loaves/buns, and cinnamon sugar into a few others. They all turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cima
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Im no great cooker...but this recipe was great!!!!!! easy and very tasty. Thanksss And my challa looks wonderfull...just think need wait grow a few more before put in the oven. (maybe next time will put in the sun for help)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cima

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was good but did not taste like challah to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was the first Challah recipe I've tried and it couldn't be easier for a novice baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I rarely write reviews on this site but I just had to comment on this on. This is hands down the best challah recipe that I have come across. The recipe came out perfectly. Huge loaves as well so we cut the recipe in half. Definitely a keeper that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by solar_biscuit
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
To be honest, I have no idea what it should taste like . However, My wife and I spent the morning making this bread and when we tasted it, it was wonderful. Dense, hearty, soft, crispy crust. We enjoyed it very much and plan on making it for future gatherings with family and friends. We made the six braid version, we found a easy how to video on youtube that made it very easy to braid. We halved the recipe and it made a very large loaf. so consider that before making. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Photo by Gitana
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. I did make a few changes though so I'll list those before I tell you what I liked about this recipe. I cut down the sugar to only two tablespoons for a less sugary challah. I also used only a third cup of vegetable oil and used only 3 eggs but omitted the yolks. My challah was very soft and moist, almost velvety on the inside, with just a slight crunch on the outside. I made this into one large 6 braid challah and brushed with only egg. Then I dipped my finger in water, then into the sesame seeds and gave each segment a roll of sesame for a more even look. Overall this was SUPERB and I have already been asked to make it for a baker friend of mine who wants to feature it in her bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
The taste was good but not the sweet, eggy challah that my family likes every shabbat. I think it rose too long because it was very dry, which would make great french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States