Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Lacks the richness and texture that I associate with challah. Several recipes on this site yield a much more typical challah. This is OK as a "general bread" recipe. I suggest making a 1/3 recipe and dividing that into two loaves. The recipe as written makes a huge amount of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kosherbakerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe makes a great challah! But it definitely takes much more flour, i keep adding and adding to what recipe suggests, untill iget the right dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this bread for a Hanukkah party my son was going to. I wasn't sure what it was supposed to taste like, and I was so scared it would be awful. But when we went, Everyone was saying it was the best Challah they had every had, and very seriously asked if I would make it every Friday for them if they paid me. I have to say, I loved it, but I was so happy with all the great things everyone said, made me feel like a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Buckley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rindy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe is wonderful, a definite keeper. The first time I made the whole recipe, and my oven could hardly contain the results. There was bread to give away. I love the light stretchy texture of the finished bread. It reminds me a bit of the bread of cinnamon rolls. The next time I made it, I mixed it up a little using 1/6 of the flour as wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Awesome recipe, I baked this morning (half recipe),the aroma was incredible, I like the texture of the bread, soft and moist. I cut the recipe in half, is only me and my husband, but I got enough that I gave one to my in-laws and they love it! I add 3/4 cup of pure clover honey instead of sugar and substitute and reduce the water to 1 1/2 cups of low fat milk instead of the 2 cups that was call for half of the recipe and I got a very good dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Really great recipe! I have to add more flour than what is listed but it always comes out so good! Easy and delicious! I've passed the recipe on to so many people and all of them absolutely love it. I add chocolate chips, sometimes cinnamon/raisin, and for a dinner loaf, I add herbs... rosemary, basil. I make 4 loaves with this recipe and they can all be a different flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was my first time making bread. This is a very easy to follow recipe. Oh, and it is DELICIOUS! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Apparently egg breads are the way for me to go. Anytime a bread recipe turns out for me the first AND second times, and tastes so good- gotta get a high score. Also pushing this one over the top is the easy preparation. I divided this recipe by 6 in order to get a great recipe for a loaf for 2, myself and my spouse. Wonderful- just as directed. Well, I did use poppy seeds instead of sesame, but that's all variable w/o affecting the performance of the functional recipe). This will be a permanent addition to our recipe box. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe. I use it all the time. The bread is soft and moist on the inside and crusty on the outside. The dough rises very quickly which is great. I have substituted the All-Purpose Flour with Hi-Gluten Bread Flour and the results are amazing. If you use Hi-Gluten Bread Flour you have to bake the bread at 375 F or it will get too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I hereby declare this a 5-star recipe. I completely committed to this recipe without adding or changing anything and ended up with two ENORMOUS, golden loaves that were soft and dense. I can't wait to try it out for French toast! I agree with other reviewers, it isn't sweet but honestly, it's "just right." As a novice baker, this recipe was easy and provided great results. And don't be afraid of the quantity. I didn't halve it but wasn't unmanageable .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States