Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I've had a lot of experience baking challah and for this particular recipe, the consistency was delicious but I found it rather flavorless. I would recommend either adding more sugar or adding honey on top and then it would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I was looking for a more crunchy recipe and when I tried it and this was perfect! soft insides and hard, beautiful outside. easy to chew too! my family like it and not I'm using this recipe for a group Challah Bake! Oh, and I left out the vanilla. thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruti
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Thank you so much for this fantastic recipe! Will be making this for years to come. It's bulletproof, as far as I can tell. The family has been having trial challah for a week now, but this one is THE BEST by far. The dough rises perfectly and looks amazing when the cooked challah is torn into pieces. As many people have noted, this makes for *a lot* of dough. I cut the recipe in half and got 2 regular sized challahs and 5 little buns. I covered the bread with a sugar crumb topping (really good!); here is the recipe for that in case someone is looking: Sweet Crumb Topping: 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar, ½ cup canola oil, 1 capful vanilla extract (optional). Mix with a spoon until crumbly and sprinkle over challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My first time making challah. As always whenever I'm gonna do something for the first time I'm nervous. But I have to admit I am quite proud of myself because the end result was better than I expected. My only disappointment is that it was a tad too dry. Next time I'll bake for 35 minutes instead of the full 40. Also, I eliminated the sesame seeds. I prefer my challah naked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Grogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
One of my favorite Challah recipes! Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was a great starting point for our first challah, thank you. The changes I made: I used 4c whole wheat flour, needed about 15c flour total, added one extra egg, used honey instead of sugar and palm shortening instead of oil. We made several loaves with this one recipe. 2 - 7 plait 700g each), 2 - 4 plait (600g each), 3 - woven/round (2 - 400g and 1 - ~200g), and one small 5 plait (a few hundred grams). I did a blog post about it if anyone is interested in seeing all the photos. Frugal Home and Health, June 6, 2014. I used a total of 4 baking sheets (two stones and two air-bake) and a pyrex dish for the smaller loaf. I have access to TWO ovens and used them both. If I only had one oven I would have put some of the dough in the fridge for later or some in the freezer for much later. Hindsight tips: - This makes a lot of dough. In order to control the size of the loaves better, I suggest using loaf pans. My oven will hold 4 loaf pans comfortably (and still produce nice loaves), however this recipe would need about 8 smaller loaf pans of 6 larger ones. You could use two racks, but the bread will not cook as nicely. - Be sure to rotate your loaves if you do not have a convection oven. - A firmer dough is easier to work with, however too firm will produce a more dense bread. My dough was a tad on the sticky side, but still worked well. Also, a firmer dough will produce a taller loaf instead of a flatter one. - Makes great french toast! We enjoyed that the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Monett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Excellent recipe. The great thing about it is that you only have to let it rise 1x!!!!! This is fantastic. I am an experienced baker & it is perfect texture. Glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This recipe is all you will ever need when it comes to challah bread. The dough was beautiful and very easy to work with. I made it according to the recipe with quick rise yeast. I am with a nonprofit agency and we have made many loaves for Shabbat using this recipe. We tried other recipes and many were sticky and difficult to braid. I work in extreme heat with no air conditioning so to find a recipe that is wonderful in the heat and moisture I work in is wonderful! Thank you, for sharing this recipe....you are feeding many hungry kids. (Shabbat Shalom)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just made this bread and loved it! Family can't get enough of it. Only thing I did different was use poppy seeds instead of sesame seeds because it was what was on hand. Have already shared the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RickSavage
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe was awesome. The only thing i changed was 1st rise was an hour. Then second rise after the weaving was 25 min. The bread looked good, tastes good the smell was mouth watering. This was also my first attempt at baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States