Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Excellent recipe. The great thing about it is that you only have to let it rise 1x!!!!! This is fantastic. I am an experienced baker & it is perfect texture. Glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This recipe is all you will ever need when it comes to challah bread. The dough was beautiful and very easy to work with. I made it according to the recipe with quick rise yeast. I am with a nonprofit agency and we have made many loaves for Shabbat using this recipe. We tried other recipes and many were sticky and difficult to braid. I work in extreme heat with no air conditioning so to find a recipe that is wonderful in the heat and moisture I work in is wonderful! Thank you, for sharing this recipe....you are feeding many hungry kids. (Shabbat Shalom)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just made this bread and loved it! Family can't get enough of it. Only thing I did different was use poppy seeds instead of sesame seeds because it was what was on hand. Have already shared the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RickSavage
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe was awesome. The only thing i changed was 1st rise was an hour. Then second rise after the weaving was 25 min. The bread looked good, tastes good the smell was mouth watering. This was also my first attempt at baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Lacks the richness and texture that I associate with challah. Several recipes on this site yield a much more typical challah. This is OK as a "general bread" recipe. I suggest making a 1/3 recipe and dividing that into two loaves. The recipe as written makes a huge amount of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kosherbakerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe makes a great challah! But it definitely takes much more flour, i keep adding and adding to what recipe suggests, untill iget the right dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this bread for a Hanukkah party my son was going to. I wasn't sure what it was supposed to taste like, and I was so scared it would be awful. But when we went, Everyone was saying it was the best Challah they had every had, and very seriously asked if I would make it every Friday for them if they paid me. I have to say, I loved it, but I was so happy with all the great things everyone said, made me feel like a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachfisher

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rindy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe is wonderful, a definite keeper. The first time I made the whole recipe, and my oven could hardly contain the results. There was bread to give away. I love the light stretchy texture of the finished bread. It reminds me a bit of the bread of cinnamon rolls. The next time I made it, I mixed it up a little using 1/6 of the flour as wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Awesome recipe, I baked this morning (half recipe),the aroma was incredible, I like the texture of the bread, soft and moist. I cut the recipe in half, is only me and my husband, but I got enough that I gave one to my in-laws and they love it! I add 3/4 cup of pure clover honey instead of sugar and substitute and reduce the water to 1 1/2 cups of low fat milk instead of the 2 cups that was call for half of the recipe and I got a very good dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Really great recipe! I have to add more flour than what is listed but it always comes out so good! Easy and delicious! I've passed the recipe on to so many people and all of them absolutely love it. I add chocolate chips, sometimes cinnamon/raisin, and for a dinner loaf, I add herbs... rosemary, basil. I make 4 loaves with this recipe and they can all be a different flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States