Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
DELICIOUS cHALLAH!!!! NUNU YOUR ARE THE BEST!!!! eVERY ONE JUST LOVED IT. aNY OTHER RECIPES ? yOUR ARE eXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PALOMENTA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Very delicious bread! The best Challah recipe I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I just want all you guys to know that who ever tastes this challah, just goes NUTS So pass around this recipe so that people wont have to suffer!!!! :) and dont worry i am adding a Hershey's chocolate cake and a mocha oatmeal cake soon.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This is a delicious bread! I can't say how it compares to other Challah breads, as I have never had any, but it is spectacular in it's own right. I saw a show on Food Network that suggested using specialty breads for french toast, namely Challah, and I decided to try it for a ladies brunch I was hosting. They went raving mad for it!! It has been requested continuely since then, some ask for the recipe, others just want me to make it for them. I am making a batch today for another brunch tomorrow! This makes the most delicious french toast if you cut it 30 minutes early to let it dry out a little. Soak it for ten minutes a side, and after cooking in the skillet, it is thick and hearty and tasty! One last thing, this bread is especially easy to make, which is why I originally chose it. I had never baked bread before, and this turned out golden and delicious. It was simple, and fun, and makes me want to move on to more challenging bread. Thanks NUNU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This bread was great. I halved the recipe and made two Large loaves. Great taste and texture, the leftover bread made the most delish' bread & butter pudding. Wonderful, Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This bread was really good. I was a little worried when it first came out of the oven because it looked nothing like challah. But as soon as everyone started eating it they loved it-my family of 5 people devoured about 1/5 of this recipe. It was awesome-would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Very tasty bread, but it came out too dense to be "real" challah. But good for everyday bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This is by far the best challah bread that I've made so far. Unfortunately for me, it was not quite as sweet and eggy as the challah from my childhood that I'm desperately trying to recreate. Maybe if I add a little more sugar/honey and another egg it will be perfect. It was quite good however, and I recommend it wholeheartedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
What a beautiful Shabbat Challah. It was very easy to make, and so delicious! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was a great bread, but not as sweet as I like challah to be. I'm going to try adding more sugar and some honey next time. But it made a lot and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States