Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
One of my favorite Challah recipes! Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was a great starting point for our first challah, thank you. The changes I made: I used 4c whole wheat flour, needed about 15c flour total, added one extra egg, used honey instead of sugar and palm shortening instead of oil. We made several loaves with this one recipe. 2 - 7 plait 700g each), 2 - 4 plait (600g each), 3 - woven/round (2 - 400g and 1 - ~200g), and one small 5 plait (a few hundred grams). I did a blog post about it if anyone is interested in seeing all the photos. Frugal Home and Health, June 6, 2014. I used a total of 4 baking sheets (two stones and two air-bake) and a pyrex dish for the smaller loaf. I have access to TWO ovens and used them both. If I only had one oven I would have put some of the dough in the fridge for later or some in the freezer for much later. Hindsight tips: - This makes a lot of dough. In order to control the size of the loaves better, I suggest using loaf pans. My oven will hold 4 loaf pans comfortably (and still produce nice loaves), however this recipe would need about 8 smaller loaf pans of 6 larger ones. You could use two racks, but the bread will not cook as nicely. - Be sure to rotate your loaves if you do not have a convection oven. - A firmer dough is easier to work with, however too firm will produce a more dense bread. My dough was a tad on the sticky side, but still worked well. Also, a firmer dough will produce a taller loaf instead of a flatter one. - Makes great french toast! We enjoyed that the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Monett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Excellent recipe. The great thing about it is that you only have to let it rise 1x!!!!! This is fantastic. I am an experienced baker & it is perfect texture. Glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This recipe is all you will ever need when it comes to challah bread. The dough was beautiful and very easy to work with. I made it according to the recipe with quick rise yeast. I am with a nonprofit agency and we have made many loaves for Shabbat using this recipe. We tried other recipes and many were sticky and difficult to braid. I work in extreme heat with no air conditioning so to find a recipe that is wonderful in the heat and moisture I work in is wonderful! Thank you, for sharing this recipe....you are feeding many hungry kids. (Shabbat Shalom)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just made this bread and loved it! Family can't get enough of it. Only thing I did different was use poppy seeds instead of sesame seeds because it was what was on hand. Have already shared the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RickSavage
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe was awesome. The only thing i changed was 1st rise was an hour. Then second rise after the weaving was 25 min. The bread looked good, tastes good the smell was mouth watering. This was also my first attempt at baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Lacks the richness and texture that I associate with challah. Several recipes on this site yield a much more typical challah. This is OK as a "general bread" recipe. I suggest making a 1/3 recipe and dividing that into two loaves. The recipe as written makes a huge amount of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kosherbakerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe makes a great challah! But it definitely takes much more flour, i keep adding and adding to what recipe suggests, untill iget the right dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this bread for a Hanukkah party my son was going to. I wasn't sure what it was supposed to taste like, and I was so scared it would be awful. But when we went, Everyone was saying it was the best Challah they had every had, and very seriously asked if I would make it every Friday for them if they paid me. I have to say, I loved it, but I was so happy with all the great things everyone said, made me feel like a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachfisher

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rindy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe is wonderful, a definite keeper. The first time I made the whole recipe, and my oven could hardly contain the results. There was bread to give away. I love the light stretchy texture of the finished bread. It reminds me a bit of the bread of cinnamon rolls. The next time I made it, I mixed it up a little using 1/6 of the flour as wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States