Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by bluej51
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Good recipe. Just like I remember challah tasting, but I think I'll skip the sesame seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsjenwest
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Tasted great. Easy to make. The first time it was a little more dense then traditional Challah. (I forgot to let it rise a second time before baking) It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjenwest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
excellent recipe, though I added a little more sugar and quite a bit more salt, I'll be using this recipe for years to come, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I am a challah lover from way back. I LOVE this recipe!! I make mine with poppy seeds or raisins. Will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is fabulous. I have made Challah for years but never found a recipe I was totally happy with. This one is crusty on the outside but not dry inside and it has great flavour. It makes two humongous loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was really good. I scaled the recipe down to 15 and replaced half the flour with whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 cup wheat germ. It was soft, moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a fabulous recipe. I tried the other Challah I recipe first because it had more reviews, but then I decided to try this one because of the shorter prep time. This one is definitely moister and more flavorful, which is especially good considering it takes less time. I did add a few swirls of honey and used poppy seeds instead of sesame seeds, but other than that I followed the recipe. This recipe does make A LOT of dough. I ended up with two huge braided loaves (did the 6-braid). Next time I think I'll cut it in thirds to have three more managable loaves. Great recipe; even my in-laws (who grew up with homemade challah) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely 5 stars for the looks !! i will try submit a photo later , this was a beauty when it came out of the oven. I halved the recipe,braided the dough into one huge loaf, sprinkled sesame on one side and poppy seeds on the other .I like the taste, too, actually even better the next day .I will have to agree with the others tho, in the sense that this is too dense to be 'Challah'. I, also was looking for an eggier, airier Challah ..Thanks a lot for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I have been searching for a great challah recipe for years. With my daughter's Bat Mitzvah pending the search went into high gear. This was the recipe we baked for her big day. We mixed and braided the dough a week before the event. The day before I defrosted and baked the challah. It came out wonderful. People raved about it. My daughter had another thing to be proud of at her Bat Mitzvah because she was able to tell everyone there she and her mother baked the fabulous challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was a hit at the dinner I brought it to last night. I looked up how to do the 6 strand braid and it's really worth the trouble. Here's the link: http://youtube.com/watch?v=22p3wIHLupc I halved the recipe to make 1 braided loaf and it was huge! I think I will make 2 next time out of the halved recipe. Many Challah recipes have poppy seeds on them instead of sesame seeds, so if you have those on hand you can substitute it. This bread is really good to dip in hummus and other dips and it looks great for serving! Other than the six piece braid, you can make a wreath by 3-strand braiding, and where it connects, make a bow out of dough. It's beautiful to serve with a dip in the middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States