Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was the first Challah recipe I've tried and it couldn't be easier for a novice baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I rarely write reviews on this site but I just had to comment on this on. This is hands down the best challah recipe that I have come across. The recipe came out perfectly. Huge loaves as well so we cut the recipe in half. Definitely a keeper that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by solar_biscuit
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
To be honest, I have no idea what it should taste like . However, My wife and I spent the morning making this bread and when we tasted it, it was wonderful. Dense, hearty, soft, crispy crust. We enjoyed it very much and plan on making it for future gatherings with family and friends. We made the six braid version, we found a easy how to video on youtube that made it very easy to braid. We halved the recipe and it made a very large loaf. so consider that before making. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Photo by Gitana
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. I did make a few changes though so I'll list those before I tell you what I liked about this recipe. I cut down the sugar to only two tablespoons for a less sugary challah. I also used only a third cup of vegetable oil and used only 3 eggs but omitted the yolks. My challah was very soft and moist, almost velvety on the inside, with just a slight crunch on the outside. I made this into one large 6 braid challah and brushed with only egg. Then I dipped my finger in water, then into the sesame seeds and gave each segment a roll of sesame for a more even look. Overall this was SUPERB and I have already been asked to make it for a baker friend of mine who wants to feature it in her bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
The taste was good but not the sweet, eggy challah that my family likes every shabbat. I think it rose too long because it was very dry, which would make great french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This is one awesome bread, my only word of caution is if you follow the directions exactly you will end up with two HUGE loafs so you really need a big oven. When I make it again today I will make it into three loafs. Thank You for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
this recipe is easy and has never let me down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluej51
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Good recipe. Just like I remember challah tasting, but I think I'll skip the sesame seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsjenwest
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Tasted great. Easy to make. The first time it was a little more dense then traditional Challah. (I forgot to let it rise a second time before baking) It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjenwest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
excellent recipe, though I added a little more sugar and quite a bit more salt, I'll be using this recipe for years to come, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States