Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. It never fails. I bake for a local farm market and use this recipe every week. Have made sweet raisin challah and wheat challah with simple substitutions. This year wanting to simplify a cinnamon roll recipe I decided to try this dough because of the high rise. They turned out beautiful. Have had many compliments on them. Have to watch the rise or they get to big to fit in the containers. I get four good size loaves from one recipe and 24 or more large cinnamon rolls. Thank you so much for sharing this. I have customers that come a long way for this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by becmac79
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Love this recipe. I got this large 6 braid loaf and 2 smaller round spiral loafs from a half batch... so easy to work with and throw together on a weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was my first loaf of bread, ever, so I don't have much to compare it on. However, I found the recipe easy to understand, relatively quick to make and excellent to eat! A perfect French Toast bread that fed a whole household. I even cut the recipe in half (well, except I added 3 eggs instead of 2.) and it yielded two lovely loaves. In the future, I will not be concerned if the rise-times take longer than expected- especially if I'm in a higher altitude. To help it along, I covered the bowl with a warm, damp towel and put it near the wood burning stove. Also, I will probably keep from adding a few cups of flour immediately so that I might knead them in later. I feel like the kneading process ate up too much extra flour because the dough was so sticky, resulting in a bread that was a little dense for my taste. All in all, I WILL be making this again, and probably often! Quite delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This recipe was great. Easy to make, easy to bake. I would add more salt (perhaps double it), and more sugar (again, perhaps double), and then it would be a 5-star challah. This does make a HUGE batch though. Also, the kneading doesn't have to be for the full 8 to 10 minutes, and can be done in a large mixing bowl (for mess contamination). Also, if you're camping, this can be baked in a dutch oven, 30 minutes over a fire, then 30 minutes off of the fire, with the lid on to steam. It won't be as beautiful, but it is a lot more fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I halved the recipe and still got 2 BIG 6braid loaves! My family loved it. The vanilla on the top totally made the bread. I added some cloves, cinnamon, cardomon and nutmeg. We had the bread with dinner last night and had alot left over. To keep it from going to waste, I used the rest to make french toast for dinner tonight and it made the best french toast any of us ever had. It is a nice dense bread, so you have to soak the bread in your egg mix a bit. Awesome, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassie
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I would like to give this recipe 10 stars. I work in a synagogue and serve challah every Saturday. I made this for myself so halved all the ingredients. It made 1 huge loaf and two rolls. Absolutely scrumptious and so easy to make. Will definitely make again. Thankyou for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Love this recipe. The only thing I changed was 1/2 a cup of GOOD REAL honey in place of white sugar. Fantastic, thank you Shana Tova
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sar19

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupoaica
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This is the only Challah i have ever made or eaten... and it was fantastic! Super fluffy crumb and beautifully perfect crust. Definitely recommend you try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States