Sfingi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Wow! I made these for the craft ladies at my church. They LOVED them and even asked me to write down the recipe. After I told my husband about them he asked me to make them when we visited his grandparents. There were a hit there too. My husband raved and raved about them so much that he had one of his co-workers over one night and asked me to make them for him. That's where my one bit of advice comes in. These cook better on a gas stove for some reason. When I made them for the craft ladies I used a gas stove. When I made them for the grandparents I used a gas stove. But when I made them at home on my electric stove they either came out underdone or overdone. The reason for this is the electric stove cannot keep the temperature of the oil at a consistant temperature (when the dough is dropped in the temperature of the oil cools slightly). To solve this problem my husband went out and bought me a deep fryer that has a temperature control just so I could make these for him at home. Now, if that's not telling you something about how good these are then I don't know what will. A BIG THANKS for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was Great. Easy and the kids loved to make them. Best of all they are not too sweet and the honey that you drizzle over them is much healthier than sugar that is used on other treats for kids. Also, I would make sure that I am using a teaspoon to measure off the dough before dropping it into the deep fryer. We used a spoon and when they turned golden brown, I took them out. Mistake!!! They were not done inside... too big and we had to tear them in halfs and deep fry longer. Otheerwise, outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
These were awesome. I loved it as well as my 3 kids ages 2,4,and 7 and my husband. After i let the batter sit i put it in a ziploc bag and cut the tip off and squirted in abt tsp increments into the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe! My grandmother used to make this when I was a kid, and I haven't had it since then. This is pretty close to hers. Also, someone else suggested putting the batter in a baggie and cutting off one of the corners to squeeze the batter out. I tried this and it works perfectly. Much better than messing with a sticky spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These were great! They were nice and light and fluffy! The only change I made was that I halved it and used 1/4 teaspoon vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. I didnt have any powdered sugar so I just drizzled on the honey. The honey definitely makes these great. Oh, also, I didnt let it sit for an hour I just fried 'em up and they turned out fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I should have known just by looking, but didn't go with my instincts. 1 1/2 tsp vanilla is far too much. Other than that the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
I found this recipe when I needed to use up my ricotta cheese. Wow, they were soooooooo good! My boyfriend just loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
The honey does it!!!! Not only does it help hold the powdered sugar on but it makes you crave more and more!!! I made them due to having extra ricotta cheese from making lasange and he held the plate as we shared them. Better than any donut holes I ever had,...light airy YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good luck on getting these cooked all the way. Burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. In the trash. Perhaps I will try again without the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fogwood214
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I had to improvise a little, but they still turned out delicious. I halved the sugar, simply because I prefer things less sweet. I was low on white flour, so I used half white/ half wheat. I was also low on oil, so I tried heating up 1/4" in a cast iron skillet and fried the batter that way. It did require a little more awareness and manual turning, but it worked out fine. Very fun to make and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fogwood214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States