Sfingi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These were great! They were nice and light and fluffy! The only change I made was that I halved it and used 1/4 teaspoon vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. I didnt have any powdered sugar so I just drizzled on the honey. The honey definitely makes these great. Oh, also, I didnt let it sit for an hour I just fried 'em up and they turned out fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I tried to make these and i failed miserably!! I cooked them in a deep fryer and they didn't seem to cook all the way through. They were almost burnt on the outside and they werre raw like inside. I don't know what i did wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I should have known just by looking, but didn't go with my instincts. 1 1/2 tsp vanilla is far too much. Other than that the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fogwood214
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I had to improvise a little, but they still turned out delicious. I halved the sugar, simply because I prefer things less sweet. I was low on white flour, so I used half white/ half wheat. I was also low on oil, so I tried heating up 1/4" in a cast iron skillet and fried the batter that way. It did require a little more awareness and manual turning, but it worked out fine. Very fun to make and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fogwood214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe! My grandmother used to make this when I was a kid, and I haven't had it since then. This is pretty close to hers. Also, someone else suggested putting the batter in a baggie and cutting off one of the corners to squeeze the batter out. I tried this and it works perfectly. Much better than messing with a sticky spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My husband couldnt get enough of these. I loved them also. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
These were awesome. I loved it as well as my 3 kids ages 2,4,and 7 and my husband. After i let the batter sit i put it in a ziploc bag and cut the tip off and squirted in abt tsp increments into the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
A Very Italian Treat!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
It tastes kind of like funnel cake but not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States