Sfingi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I have been looking and looking for a recipe like this! As a kid, my mom used to make something very similar and I am SO excited to have found this recipe! Through the years, we have lost the recipe we used so I'm really hoping these turn out as well as the ones I remember growing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
very good. a little lumpy, may be my fault, but family didn't like the lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Made these for my daughters' birthday, and they were gone before my girls could even taste them! The honey is a great touch. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zZaMaMa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Favorite family recipe: the sfingi never get to leave the kitchen as the kids and adults stand next to the deep fryer and fight to eat them. Variations include adding chopped apples to the batter and shaking in cinnamon sugar in a brown paper bag after draining. Hint: dropping these into the deep fryer using two teaspoons results in some "fingers" stretching out from the dough, which are my family's favorite crispy part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These were fabulous when they were fresh and hot, but once cold were soggy and less appealing. Eat 'em while they're hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Yum, yum, yum!! I used ricotta fresh from Italy, and oh my goodness, they were good! One thing - instead of piling them in a pyramid and drizzling honey and powdered sugar over them, I rolled each one in honey and powdered sugar. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
these are authentic. My father said they were just like "mamma made". A very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
These were really good and a great way to use up any leftover ricotta from lasagna. I made a 4-serving version, using 3/4 cup of ricotta, 1/8 cup Egg Beaters, 1.5 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1.25 tsp baking powder, and 1/4 cup flour. I also used a medium sized cookie scoop to ensure they were all uniform and would cook evenly. They were delicious right out of the oil. However I cooked them the night before, stored them in an airtight container wrapped in paper towels and then baked them until hot the next day. Tasted perfect! Tasted like little donut holes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikki4187
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
These were very good but I agree I think maybe some cinammon or another spice was needed to make them perfect. Hubby and cousin ate them all!! Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki4187

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Very simple to prepare and it was really easy to fry these yummy treats up. Cinnamon spinkled with the sugar, made these even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States