Sfingi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Teresa made these and they are the best I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Licata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This makes way too many sfingi unless you are celebrating all the Josephs in your extended family. Cut recipe in 1/2 or 1/4. I've been making them for years, AND THE BEST TIP is to put the batter in mini-muffin pans and bake at 350 for 15 to 20 minutes. No nasty frying and light as air sfingi. Vive San Giuseppe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
They were good. I've never used ricotta cheese, but my husband made gluten free ravoli and didn't use it up. Definitely new for us but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roosevelt, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
loved them and so did my whole family !! made them for Christmas. were a tradition when i was younger. everyone raved about them. i did add a sprinkle of cinnamon to the batter and served them w/ a cinnamon sugar coating rather than honey and powdered sugar!! will definitely make again !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
loved the recipe, but altered it a bit. first, i used a cast iron skillet on an electric stove, and high heat was far too hot. medium heat for the oil was just right. the first batch was black. also, rather than drizzling with honey, i used honey butter as a spread/dip. i will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I agree ....... The outside burns and the inside is not cooked. I have never used ricotta in this recipe before and I think that is what makes these gooey inside. Not a fan of this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good, my husband liked it even better than the funnel cake recipe and he loved those... I find it pretty easy to dump the batter in the oil with two teaspoons: fill one up and with the second push that content off with the second spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good luck on getting these cooked all the way. Burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. In the trash. Perhaps I will try again without the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
These were unbelievably good! They were so light and fluffy. I didn't alter the recipe at all. Though I did follow the recommendation of using the ziplock bag instead of a spoon to drop them in the oil and that worked like a charm. Like a lot of others, I only made this to use up some ricotta cheese that I had left over. Because of this recipe, I will now be buying ricotta just to make these!!! The only complaint that I have is that I ate so many, I almost made myself sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Kids LOVED them, like other reviews they ate the whole bunch still warm, and I have a PICKY 7yo who loved them too. I used a deep fryer , worked ok but stuck to the basket sometimes. Next time I'll try using the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States