Sexy Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Chef John, your recipes never disappoint and this one is no different. I used a combination of tilapia and snapper, and half & half instead of the cream because that's what I had on hand, and it was fantastic! I served it with a simple green salad and some bread, and it was a great meal that looked way more expensive and labor intensive than it was. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I would rename this "addictive fish stew" as it was decadent and flavorful and very easy. I live in Dubai and could not find fennel bulb, so used about a half a tablespoon of fennel seed instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie_s

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Thanks Chef John. This is incredibly delicious!!! It's simple and the taste is amazing. You're the best. Can you please do more fish recipes? Furikaki or macadamia nut crusted fish with some of your "out of this world" sauces! Thank you for sharing. I also enjoy your sense of humor. ?????????? Lucy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Sim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Loved this!.......I followed the recipe except I used a can of 2% evaporated milk instead of the cream......its fantastic......learned that when in Nova Scotia and had a fish stew!...also added 3 times the tarragon...red pepper flakes instead of cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very good. I added more bullion for the soup like consistency. Thank you for the fabulous dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingbee
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Awesome recipe! My boyfriend loves it..use the recipe as is..never doubt chef john's judgement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
When I saw the title for this recipe I knew I had to try it. My husband I both love fish and so I made it last night. I thought it was very good. But the fennel and tarragon were a little overpowering/sophisticated for my palate. My husband on the other hand is IN LOVE with this Stew! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was a great stew. Flavor was what I was looking for and it was super easy to make. This is great when you are crunched for time and have a very hungry family. Plus my 2 year old could not get enough of it. I had to improvise since I could not get a leak. Added a small yellow onion and fennel seed in place of the bulb. still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I was in soup mode one night and was trying three similar types of soups that used similar ingredients. This one was the clear winner and I have tossed the recipe in my "Tried and True" file of recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bay Leaf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made this tonight using red snapper - fantastic! Will definitely make it again. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States