Sex in a Pan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Served at our Boxing Day dinner and we all went back for seconds. It was amazing! So simple yet so darn good. As most of us cooks do, we add or make a little change. I did add two thin sliced bananas onto vanilla layer, great addition! Only change I may do is to increase the pecan layer by 1/2 and add 12 ounces of cream cheese instead of 8 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOTJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is my absolutely favorite desert!! I also find the layers are too thin if you follow the recipe, so I double the recipe every time and I use a slightly larger pan, but not much bigger 10x16. Other than that, I don't change a thing!! It's the best!! Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I love this recipe but instead of vanilla pudding I use 1 box butterscotch and 1 box chocolate.This gives it a slor bar taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delish! Just like mom used to make it. I followed other reviewers advice and made it in a smaller pan. I also added chopped pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I modified this recipe because I can't stand instant pudding. I eliminated the vanilla pudding and doubled the chocolate. I used the large box of chocolate pudding that you cook. I started with the crust, layered on the cream cheese mixture, layered on the cooled chocolate pudding and finished with the top layer of whipped cream. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I do agree that the layers for a 9 by 13 are too thin, but it was still delicious!!! I substituted instant banana cream pudding for the vanilla pudding and it was much tastier!!! I will make it again but will increase the bottom crust, and the whipped cream and the milk in the pudding.... Also I found the cooked pudding made it much creamier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I have made this dish many times over the years. I don't use sugar in the crust. It doesn't need it. But I do use a full cup of chopped pecans. Also I use 1 each of the large instant chocolate and vanilla puddings and mix them together, using 4 cups of milk. I whip my own cream (a pint, whipped and sweetened with sugar and vanilla, is plenty) to use in the cream cheese layer and the rest goes on top. You can shave a chocolate bar on top for garnish. And yes, it is addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
A very good, easy to follow recipe that I made very few adjustments to. First off, the prep time posted doesn't take into account all the time you need to cool each layer. The crust took at least twenty minutes to cool, and every layer after that needs time to set. I followed the advice of some previous reviewers and used an 8 x 11 pan rather than 9 x 13. It worked great--the top layer of whipped cream just reached the top of the pan. I never use instant pudding and I had a bit of a problem with those layers--it started to set in the bowl before I could pour it into the pan! I added a little extra milk to make the pudding easier to pour, and everything worked out swimmingly. I used extra pecans, melted chocolate and sliced strawberries to garnish. I really like this as a base recipe--you could add layers of banana or other fruits, different flavors of pudding, or infuse the whipped cream with chocolate, coffee, etc. A good recipe I'm sure I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very good! It gets even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States