Seven-Up™ Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This cake is super easy to make and comes out very moist and YUMMY! It was a big hit at a luau-themed party we recently attended. As for the topping: 15 minutes on low will barely even get the butter melted. I raised the heat to medium and was vigilant about stirring - it still took about another 20 minutes to be completely thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This the second time I've used this recipe and it was great both times. Everyone loved it. I did make a few changes. I used lemon pudding instead of vanilla and I added choppd pecans to the icing. The icing takes longer (at least twice as long) as suggested. Let the cake cool a bit before icing. And it's best if it sits overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This lemon-lime flavored cake bakes up nicely and the topping is awesome! In-laws and friends really liked, even passed the grandma test(the dessert expert in our family). I like the lemon-lime flavor and was very easy to make, followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
The cake tasted great but I was disappointed that it fell so much. The instructions said to pour the topping on the warm cake. I poured it on shortly after taking it out of the oven. At that time it was very fluffy....when I came back 10 minutes later, it had fallen to half the size. It still tasted great, but was quite dense. I'll make it again, but will not start the topping until the cake is done and not put it on until it has had time to cool a bit. Also, the topping did take longer that 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I'm kind of new to making cakes. This was pretty tasty; sweet but not overly so. I have one complaint about the topping though. I think 15 minutes on "low" is not nearly enough to thicken up the topping, as it was still very liquid for me. So when I put it on the cake a lot of liquid was absorbed and probably made the cake even moister than it already was. If I make this again, I'll make sure the topping is much thicker before I put it on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made this cake it was very moist and fluffy. I had to tweak the topping I used 2.5 tsp of cornstarch, instead of flour, to thicken the pineapple topping, no eggs and only 3/4 c. of sugar. I added 1/4 c. butter and 4 oz of flaked cocounut - the topping came out great! I spread whipped cream on top, to make the cake more presentable. I would make again. My co-workers LOVED it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I made this for my dad's birthday and everyone was delighted and impressed. My grandma commented that the cake made her think of being in Hawaii. :) I made just a couple of changes: I used lemon cake mix, and I baked it in two 9-inch round pans and put some of the frosting both on top of the cake and between the two layers. I refrigerated the cake overnight, and right before the party, I covered the whole cake in whipped cream, which made it look pretty and tasted great with the tropical flavors. Simple recipe that's unique enough to get rave reviews. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I've made this twice and gotten rave reviews both times. It's always the first dessert to go at a potluck, I agree that the topping takes longer than 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
i made this for christmas this year for something different. i remember this cake from a long time ago. i use frozen coconut, it is just the right amt.had to cook the topping a little longerbut it was well worth the wait!!KEEPS GREAT IN THE FRIDGE. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This recipe was great. Very good cake, indeed. The only problem I had was my grocery store only carries larger bags of coconut, so I didn't know how much to use. I put in a cup, but can anyone tell me how much 3.5 ounces is in cups??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States