Seven-Up™ Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This the second time I've used this recipe and it was great both times. Everyone loved it. I did make a few changes. I used lemon pudding instead of vanilla and I added choppd pecans to the icing. The icing takes longer (at least twice as long) as suggested. Let the cake cool a bit before icing. And it's best if it sits overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This is excellent... the topping was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanbon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
The cake tasted great but I was disappointed that it fell so much. The instructions said to pour the topping on the warm cake. I poured it on shortly after taking it out of the oven. At that time it was very fluffy....when I came back 10 minutes later, it had fallen to half the size. It still tasted great, but was quite dense. I'll make it again, but will not start the topping until the cake is done and not put it on until it has had time to cool a bit. Also, the topping did take longer that 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This lemon-lime flavored cake bakes up nicely and the topping is awesome! In-laws and friends really liked, even passed the grandma test(the dessert expert in our family). I like the lemon-lime flavor and was very easy to make, followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Absolutely delicious! This gets eaten so fast you may want to make two at a time! Both my daughters asked for this recipe. I served it at a tea party and both of my friends asked for this recipe. I think I'll try this with a can of fruit cocktail next time. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
i made this for christmas this year for something different. i remember this cake from a long time ago. i use frozen coconut, it is just the right amt.had to cook the topping a little longerbut it was well worth the wait!!KEEPS GREAT IN THE FRIDGE. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This recipe was great. Very good cake, indeed. The only problem I had was my grocery store only carries larger bags of coconut, so I didn't know how much to use. I put in a cup, but can anyone tell me how much 3.5 ounces is in cups??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This cake is super easy to make and comes out very moist and YUMMY! It was a big hit at a luau-themed party we recently attended. As for the topping: 15 minutes on low will barely even get the butter melted. I raised the heat to medium and was vigilant about stirring - it still took about another 20 minutes to be completely thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I've made this twice and gotten rave reviews both times. It's always the first dessert to go at a potluck, I agree that the topping takes longer than 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I'm kind of new to making cakes. This was pretty tasty; sweet but not overly so. I have one complaint about the topping though. I think 15 minutes on "low" is not nearly enough to thicken up the topping, as it was still very liquid for me. So when I put it on the cake a lot of liquid was absorbed and probably made the cake even moister than it already was. If I make this again, I'll make sure the topping is much thicker before I put it on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States