Seven-Up™ Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I made this recipe and everyone loved it. It was moist and delicious. I picked holes in the top if it before adding the topping and it was awesome. I used lemon pudding instead of vanilla and left the coconut off because my family, including myself, doesn't care for coconut. The topping took twice as long as the recipe said but I didn't mind. Even my 2 year old picky eater loved it. I'm gonna make it for her birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I made a few adjustments after reading a few of the reviews. I used a lemon pudding mix and followed the cake directions as above. For the topping I used 1 1/4 C white sugar, used cornstarch rather than flour and used crushed pineapple with no added sugar. I cooked it over medium heat stirring with a whisk. I let the cake cool for quite some time before putting the slightly cooled topping on. It is a great cake. I would also put a cherry on top prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Great recipe. Fallowed ingredients as is. Fruit filling/topping only took 15 min to thicken but I cooked it at a higher temp. I recommend tempering the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
The cake itself was of course easy to make, and it had a somewhat dense moist texture; in between a sponge cake and pound cake. I think the cake recipe would work for many other things as well. The topping/frosting was a bit disappointing. It tasted good, but for the effort I wasn't that impressed. I thought the sweetness was a bit too much and wished I had just used 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2. It took FOREVER to thicken and I was afraid of walking away else I burn it! It took over 30 minutes to get it thick, starting it at a low 3 setting and then kicking the heat up to 4.5 to seal the deal. Part of the problem is that there is no frame of reference for how thick the topping should be. Mine was about the consistency of warm lemon curd, before it sets, or cook & serve pudding before it sets. I am taking one star only for the sweetness of the topping, with a suggestion of reducing the sugar to 1 cup. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
The cake was fabulous, wouldn't change a thing. The topping tasted great, but the consistency was too runny. I cooked it a lot longer than it called for on medium and still had to add a lot of flour to get it to thicken up. Maybe making it without the pineapple juice would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I really hate to give a bad review, but I just couldn't get past the oily taste the cake had. Next time I will use only 1/2 cup of oil. Also, the frosting was so sweet. Next time I will add 1 cup of chopped pecans to off-set the sweetness. I make a lot of cakes and should have known not to add that much oil, but I make the recipes exactly as written , so I can give an honest review. I noticed a lot of people had problems getting the frosting to thicken, Make sure you use real butter or margarine. If it doesn't have 100 calories per Tablespoon, it is a spread (even if it is in sticks) not real margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aesj22
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I used the ingredients, except I used diet Sprite. I also baked this cake as a layer cake instead of a sheet cake, using a round 8 x 4 pan. I baked for about 55 minutes to compensate for the height of the pan. Then I cut it in half to make two layers and filled it with strawberry preserves and a layer of thinly sliced fresh strawberries. A very nice take on strawberry shortcake. I then added lemon extract to the traditional butter cream icing. The cake was moist, and the flavor and moisture from the filling really set this off. So for those of you who don't want to cook the topping for 45 minutes, fill it with low-sugar, high quality fruit preserves and fresh fruit. A chocolate pudding or bananas and a banana pudding snack cup would probably also do well as a filling. Thanks for this great cake recipe. This is a really moist, tasty cake. Mine did not come out light and fluffly, but probably because of the size of the pan I used. Love at first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I took 45 minutes to thicken the frosting. Started on number 3 and ended on 4.5 on electric stove to get this to thicken. And as for the cake as it cooled it sunk and shriveled up. Frosting very sweet. But taste good. Labor intensive frosting and I will see what pple say tonight about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This cake is so delicious. So easy to make. Our family has put this cake at the top of the list as one of our very favorites. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
If u hate pineapple and/or coconut, skip this recipe. Everyone else, cherish it!!!. You know what? Try it regardless. It's super simple and inexpensive and someone u kno will gladly take it off your hands if u don't want it. I know very little about baking yet the results were a very moist and oh so flavorful cake. (It was even delicious despite me adding the coconut to the saucepan instead of after as the recipe states). A few things in the recipe weren't clear to a juvie like myself so to clarify: I used Betty Crocker Sup Moist Butter Yellow Cake Mix and I used real butter vs. marg. The "pineapple tidbits" were too big (imo) so I put them in a food proc on low. I used a 9 x 13 glass pyrex dish sprayed w/ Pam. Baked 40 min vs. 35. The topping only took 15 min to thicken for me, altho other reviewers said it took much longer for them (maybe bcuz I added coconut in the beginning and/or because I pureed the pineapples) but it was a perfect thick creamy consistency after 15 min. Also I don't like thick icings on a cake so I put 1/4 of icing on the btm of a different dish and placed the cake on top, then frosted w/ remaining 3/4 icing. Everyone LOVED IT!!!! Someone else suggested two round pans with icing in the middle. I'm trying that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States