Seven-Up™ Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This recipe is very similar to the one my mother makes. Her's calls for 3 cups sugar, 5 eggs and 1/2 tsp almond extract instead of vanilla. Everything else is the same. It is a very light flavored cake - just right for the summer. Great topped with fresh/frozen strawberries or peaches mixed with sugar to form a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This was not very good. I admit I cheated and used half margarine because I didn't want to use up all my butter. I was pretty nervous when a layer of grease formed and boiled around the edges. Also it was very heavy and dense. It also didn't have much flavor other that grease despite the large amount of vanilla I dumped in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
This cake is so moist. But make sure you let it cool in the pan for at least 30 minutes before you remove from pan and let cool completely before placing any cover over it. This cake is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
My family came for a family reunion and I ended up making this cake 7 times during a 4 day period. It was easy and everyone loved it. It had a good texture. I jazzed up the flavor by adding a seven up and powered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
cake was very dense....not a favorite....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
I love this recipe it was very tasty.My children really enjoyed it.We ate half of the cake while it was warm.I must make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Thank you Sue for sharing this recipe. I lost my copy many years ago during a move. This cake is delicious and when I made it I added cream cheese frosting and placed the cake in the refrigerator and served it chilled. GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I was looking for the recipe that used a box cake mix but I think this will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I loved the texture of the cake, but it didn't have much of a taste. I would suggest adding any flavor that comes to mind. This cake had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States