Seven-Up™ Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
this cake is soooooo gooooood! i followed the recipe i just added 1 more egg, about a half cup more sugar and a little extra vanilla. i definatly will be making this again. i felt the extra egg would make it less dense and it did. it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Love this cake but made a few changes 3 cups of sugar 5 eggs and 10 ounces of 7-up the cake was much lighter, very moist and full of flavor. I bake this cake every month for my mother who is 83 she said it reminds her of the cakes they baked back then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I just made this cake and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
True pound cakes are dense. So maybe it's just that you don't like pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This is the BEST! I put 1-1/2 tsp. of lemon {I like the flavor} and 1/2 tsp. vanilla, instead of 1 tsp. each flavoring. The texture was dreamy, as was the taste. Left it for 1/2 an hour to cool, and it came out perfectly. Cant say enough about it. Thanks, Sandee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I searched long and hard for a 7-up pound cake as good as those my friends used to make back home, and this is it! The cake is so delicate and flavorful that no glaze is needed. (I never liked those anyway!) Just a perfect cake. Your friends and co-workers will LOVE it- mine did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I have made this cake over 10 times and everyone loves it. It is the best tasting pound cake ever. The key is to remove from the pan after about 2 minutes because it will stick if you let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Wonderful recipe, will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Great Cake! It came out great despite the fact that I forgot to add a second stick of butter. I also took the advice of another reviewer and added 1 tblsp of vanilla and lemon extracts. The cake really tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This recipe is very similar to the one my mother makes. Her's calls for 3 cups sugar, 5 eggs and 1/2 tsp almond extract instead of vanilla. Everything else is the same. It is a very light flavored cake - just right for the summer. Great topped with fresh/frozen strawberries or peaches mixed with sugar to form a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States