Seven-Up™ Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years! Everyone enjoys it. It is moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Seriously irritated at this recipe. And it takes a lot for me to get irritated with sweets. I followed the recipe EXACT and this came out dry and tasteless. And it just fell apart! Pieces were breaking off and it just wasn't pretty. I tried to salvage it with a lemon-lime juice glaze and that helped but not enough for me to just flip out over. Good thing my Mom's Meetup Group cancelled this morning, I would have been embarassed to serve this. It might be that I overcooked it but reading through the reviews now, I know I'm not the only person who had that issue. I'd like to try it again but I don't want to get torked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This recipe was good however not great. I thought that the cake was lacking flavor the first day when I made it. It was not as moist as I thought it would be. The second day, it tasted much better and moister. I also added the 7 up glaze on top of 1/4 c 7-up and a 1/2 c white sugar. melt on the stove until sugar is dissolved. I would deffinately make this again, but a day in advance to allow flavors to truely pull through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this cake 2 days ago, and it is already gone! My Fiance' and mother in law destroyed it before it even got a chance to cool! The only thing that I did differently was add 3 cups of sugar and 5 eggs. Its not listed on here, but I made a glaze to go along with it. To make the glaze, you need 1/4 cup of 7 up and a 1/2 cup sugar. Cook in a saucepan until the sugar is dissolved. While the cake is still warm, take a toothpick and punch holes through out the cake and pour the glaze over the cake. The glaze really made the cake yummy! I plan on making this cake again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This cake recipe has been in my family all my life, but we used 3 sticks of unsalted sweet cream butter, 2 cups cake flour and 1c allpurpose flour sifted together. oh and used diet sprite instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Willie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Very easy and fool proof. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
If you like a very moist pound cake that has a velvet smooth texture then you will love this pound cake. I fell in love with as well as the rest of my family. Try using cake flour (Swan Downs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My kids and friends Love this cake. It is so very moist. I was a little scared that i had to use crisco also but this ios the best seven-up recipe i ever used. I did cheat a little by adding 1 tbsp of vanilla instead of tsp. Adds more flovour. MMMMMMM good i say!! Thanks Sue for great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
My family loved the cake after I tweeked it a little. I added 3/4c 7up, zest of two limes and the juice of both also. Then I put a glaze on it using icing sugar, soda and juice of 1 lime and zest. Cake had a very nice flavor and not to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
this cake is soooooo gooooood! i followed the recipe i just added 1 more egg, about a half cup more sugar and a little extra vanilla. i definatly will be making this again. i felt the extra egg would make it less dense and it did. it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States