Seven-Up™ Mud, Fruit Slide Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this with Sprite. Added coconut, sliced almonds and marachino cherries. Loved the taste and so easy. BUT, sooo crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Wow, this came together so easy and was really moist! I put in extra pineapple for more flavor which helped because the pineapple flavor is very light (might try a pineapple cake mix next time). It does seem to be crumbly while still being moist(?) and that makes it a little tough to get out of the pan but well worth the effort. I made a version of the pineapple party topping from this site to frost-Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great and super duper easy! My kids at it alllll! You really can't taste the pineapple which made them happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
My daughter and I just made this, and it's absolutely fantastic! We saved the pineapple juice and added it to the icing we made to top it off. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Hanau, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Nice cake but very crumbly. Mine was difficult to cutinto nice portions because it was falling apart. Presentation was so great but the cake tasted super! I omitted chocolate and added shredded coconut and maraschino cherries instead. Very tasty combination of flavors. My family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I think this is a very refreshing cake. No icing needed. I did modify just because I needed to use what I had on hand. I used Diet 7 Up and I think it was plenty sweet. I also used a pineapple upside down cake mix because I did not have a yellow cake mix. I will make this again and probably omit the choc. chips next time. They are definitely not needed. This would be great paired with some fresh bananas and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I have to agree with Jenelle D. I think this cake would taste much better by omitting the chocolate chips, and adding coconut, and marachino cherries. I made the recipe exact and I don't think 1/2 cup pineapple is enough. I was disappointed but may try again with a little different ingredients. It was very easy to make. That was a plus, with a few adjustments, it may turn out to be a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I had to make some changes to this recipe. First, I didn't have yellow cake mix so I used white. Second, I used almost an entire can of crushed pineapple w/juice and didn't add the oil. I totally forgot to add in the allspice. Overall it came out kind of like a moist chocolate chip cookie that was pineapple flavored. It was good, but I think next time I'd leave out the chocolate chips and instead add in marachino cherries and coconut and some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
If I did this right, (I'm blind and using a screen reader) I've rated this recipe five stars. I made this cake for a memorial service that was held at my church. It went together in a snap. It was so moist, it didn't need a glaze. I followed the directions exactly, and got a delicious cake I don't feel needs any modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I wasn't sure if my husband would like a cake without frosting, but he loved it! It is a moist cake with interesting combination of flavors. A five star for the taste and being so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States