Seven-Up® Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by foodforthought
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is a really good, rich cake! Use 7 up soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodforthought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is simply awesome. I make this cake for the holiday season every year and I get rave reviews. After reading the reviews, I make sure that I blend the butter and sugar for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I love this cake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I am a baker by trade for over 37 years. I always make this recipe. If you use only cake flour for this recipe, I'm sure you will have a hit on your hands. My aunt refuses to eat anything else that I bake. I make over 52 different cakes alone but she refuses to try any of them because this is her absolute favorite. She will be 73 years old December 28th. I also use Virginia Dare Lemon extract. I invert the recipe I have for the extracts though. My recipe calls for 1 T vanilla extract and 1 t lemon extract. I was given the recipe from a neighbor about 26 years ago after tasting the cake she made. I also never beat my sugar and butter for more than five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Directions are very easy to follow. Baking time took about 90 minutes in my oven and I used a bundt pan. Will make again. This is the perfect recipe to use for a first time cake baker (from scratch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this for my hubby's birthday and it was a huge hit. It was a simple enough recipe that my son helped and got to learn about basic baking principles. We followed the recipe except for: we used 1tsp vanilla and 1tsp lemon extract, and we added 2tbsp of lemon juice. It ended up with a great pound cake like texture, with a light and airy lemon flavor. My mother, who doesn't even like sweets, even liked it! We will definitely be using this one again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastazia Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I didn't like the result, especially, after all the work I put into making it. It was very thick and dense, almost pasty. It also didn't have much flavor. My mother in law and daughter liked it, although they stated its lack of sweetness is what they enjoyed. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
THis cake was good but I think blending for 20 min was not as helpful. I think a good 8 min should do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLICEOFHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
What I do wrong? My cake look pretty but tasted horrible. After adding in the flour I tasted the batter and it tasted awful. What did i do wrong I didn't sift the flour is that the problem? it all baked well, but the taste was nasty with a thick texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I baked this cake as mini bundts, since my oven will not bake the whole bundt through. This recipe was wonderfull as mini cakes. I did add 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp lemon extracts. I will make sure this goes in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States