Seven-Up® Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This is an excellent cake. It will definitely be added to my families favorite dessert list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
If only I can give this 20 stars!!!!! This cake is absolutely delicious! My new favorite cake! This is the cake I will, from now on, make to take!!!! An old time recipe. I've already made one for us and one for the neighbors. My kids and husband loved it, and my neighbors kids and husband love it! I can't wait to make another one! You want cake? I shall make for you!!!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Photo by Anuja
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Yummy! I did change this just a tad. I creamed the butter first and then added the sugar. Creamed those together for about 10 minutes. After adding the eggs, I added a tsp. of vanilla. The rest of the recipe was the same. Turned out great!!! I glazed the cake with a lemon-lime glaze (1 cup powdered sugar, few tsp of 7-up, a tsp of lemon extract) and garnished with some lemon and lime zest and some mint springs. Lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anuja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
i had missplaced my reciped , so i was very happy to find this one. Beating the butter and sugar for 20 min was new to me...but thats what is need for a lighter cake. i also addded lemon and lime zest to the batter. I frost the cake with buttercream frosting with lemon juice...Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Simply awesome! This is my new "go to" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I remember making a 7-Up Cake with my mom as a child. This is the first time I've found the recipe. I've made it at least 4 times already for various functions and church events. ALWAYS A HIT!!! I even found a glaze from another recipe. 1C powdered sugar, 2tsp milk, 2tsp lemon extract, slash of 7-Up. Perfect finish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodforthought
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is a really good, rich cake! Use 7 up soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodforthought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is simply awesome. I make this cake for the holiday season every year and I get rave reviews. After reading the reviews, I make sure that I blend the butter and sugar for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I love this cake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I am a baker by trade for over 37 years. I always make this recipe. If you use only cake flour for this recipe, I'm sure you will have a hit on your hands. My aunt refuses to eat anything else that I bake. I make over 52 different cakes alone but she refuses to try any of them because this is her absolute favorite. She will be 73 years old December 28th. I also use Virginia Dare Lemon extract. I invert the recipe I have for the extracts though. My recipe calls for 1 T vanilla extract and 1 t lemon extract. I was given the recipe from a neighbor about 26 years ago after tasting the cake she made. I also never beat my sugar and butter for more than five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States