Seven-Up™ Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Simply awesome! This is my new "go to" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I remember making a 7-Up Cake with my mom as a child. This is the first time I've found the recipe. I've made it at least 4 times already for various functions and church events. ALWAYS A HIT!!! I even found a glaze from another recipe. 1C powdered sugar, 2tsp milk, 2tsp lemon extract, slash of 7-Up. Perfect finish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodforthought
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is a really good, rich cake! Use 7 up soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodforthought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is simply awesome. I make this cake for the holiday season every year and I get rave reviews. After reading the reviews, I make sure that I blend the butter and sugar for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I love this cake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I am a baker by trade for over 37 years. I always make this recipe. If you use only cake flour for this recipe, I'm sure you will have a hit on your hands. My aunt refuses to eat anything else that I bake. I make over 52 different cakes alone but she refuses to try any of them because this is her absolute favorite. She will be 73 years old December 28th. I also use Virginia Dare Lemon extract. I invert the recipe I have for the extracts though. My recipe calls for 1 T vanilla extract and 1 t lemon extract. I was given the recipe from a neighbor about 26 years ago after tasting the cake she made. I also never beat my sugar and butter for more than five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Directions are very easy to follow. Baking time took about 90 minutes in my oven and I used a bundt pan. Will make again. This is the perfect recipe to use for a first time cake baker (from scratch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this for my hubby's birthday and it was a huge hit. It was a simple enough recipe that my son helped and got to learn about basic baking principles. We followed the recipe except for: we used 1tsp vanilla and 1tsp lemon extract, and we added 2tbsp of lemon juice. It ended up with a great pound cake like texture, with a light and airy lemon flavor. My mother, who doesn't even like sweets, even liked it! We will definitely be using this one again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I didn't like the result, especially, after all the work I put into making it. It was very thick and dense, almost pasty. It also didn't have much flavor. My mother in law and daughter liked it, although they stated its lack of sweetness is what they enjoyed. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
THis cake was good but I think blending for 20 min was not as helpful. I think a good 8 min should do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLICEOFHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States