Seven-Up™ Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SMGaff
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Amazing recipe! I have a standing mixer, so making this cake was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This recipe was given to me by a friend. I made it last night, the first time for a bundt cake. I was very disappointed. I baked it at 325 for almost 2 hours. The outside was crusty and the inside wasn't quite done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I have been making this cake with this recipe for seven years and it is still a top request at every holiday and get together. I like it less lemon-y so I limit my usage of lemon extract and use one less egg than the recipe calls for and it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I just made this cake last night and upon reading some of the reviews, I changed a few things: 1) I decreased the sugar to 2 1/2 cups and it was definitely sweet enough 2) I added 2 tsps vanilla extract 3) I added the zest of one lemon 4) I added 1 tsp of baking soda to the flour 5) I increased the 7UP to 1 cup I did beat the sugar and butter (at room temp) for the recommended 20 minutes- set the timer up and left my stand mixer do the job :) while I was getting all of my other ingredients out and the pan greased and floured. I also alternated adding the flour and the 7UP (I actually used Sprite), beginning and ending with the flour. I made sure not to overbeat, just mix to incorporate. I ended up making 24 cupcakes and one regular size bread loaf pan out of this cake recipe, decreasing the time in the oven. Everything turned out extremely moist and absolutely delicious! My whole family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23cuties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
After making this cake, I was tearing up because this is the cake I remember my great-aunt making for every special occasion before she could no longer bake. I made this cake in remembrance of her and it was AWESOME!!!! I will be keeping this recipe FOREVER... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by guesspro
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe. I have found the creaming the butter and sugar does make the cake a bit less dense but its not the end of the world if you don't. I also find that buttering and flowering the bunt pan works much better than non-stick cooking spray. I add a little more lemon extract and like to ice my 7up cake with icing made from confectioners sugar, lemon extract, vanilla, 7UP and a drop of milk. Put the icing in a zip-lock sandwich bag, snip the corner and go to town. I posted pics. People love this cake. It is a bit time consuming but so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guesspro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
My kids love this cake and it's super simple to make. It's a great alternative to a plain pound cake. I've made cupcakes, cakes and slabs out of this recipe and it's worked perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Made this for my husbands b-day. He loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrondaT
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This cake looked very pretty and was moist. I baked it to serve with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Soooo good! I ate almost all of it by myself. So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States