Seven-Up™ Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Very rich and comforting cake. I did not have 7up, so I used Diet Cherry 7up. I also made a light glaze to drizzle over the top. Reminds me of being in my grandma's kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel4Shoes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Wonderful cake. Made mine in the Kitchen Aide which makes the 20 minutes much easier but I do believe the 20 mins. must make a difference. I did take the advice of previous reviewers and used 1 tsp. lemon and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. Everyone loved it. Next time definitely will have fresh strawberries on hand to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I really enjoyed the consistency and flavor of this cake. Not too sweet and very much like a pound cake. I melted some chocolate chips and poured it over the top. Just seemed to add that little something. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I have struggled with several different 7-up cake recipes. This is the only one that has ever worked correctly! I did cream the butter and sugar for the full 20 minutes and I'm glad I did. No bubbling out of the pan into the bottom of the oven, no "sad" streaks (although that disappoints my husband). Cake gets better each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This cake is so delicious! I baked this cake for my boyfriend and he loved it. I will be using this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Was everything I expeced a seven up cake to be.. so good. Kids loved it, kids friends loved it- and now they request it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I TRIED THIS CAKE DUE TO THE HIGH REVIEWS AND IT DID COME OUT REALLY MOIST, BUT I DIDN'T LIKE THAT YOU COULD SMELL AND TASTE THE EGGS IN THE CAKE. IT WAS JUST NOT WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR, BUT OVERALL IT DID COME OUT NICE. BUT I PERSONALLY WILL NOT BAKE THIS ONE FOR ALL THE TIME AND EFFORT IT TOOK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
my husband is from New Orleans and his favorite is 7-up cake. I made this for him and he loves it! The only changes I made were I added a tsp vanilla and instead of lemon extract i used real lemon juice about 6 tsp; I also drizzled on top some powdered sugar mixed with a little milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I followed the tips by previous reviewer Serenity and this cake was awesome. This was my first cake from scratch and I was very pleased with the texture and richness...like a pound cake. I used 1 tsp of Vanilla extract and 1 tsp of lemon extract. Next time I will omit the lemon extract, which is why I rated this only 4 stars instead of 5. I did not care for the lemon taste...but I love vanilla. Will make this cake again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobodyyouknow79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good and easy cake. I did add a glaze however. I mixed a little rose water and milk with some powdered sugar and vanilla and it was really good without being too sweet. Will definitely do again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States