Seven-Up™ Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This cake is wonderful as is. Sometimes, I'll add a little lemon and lime zest to the cake. Sometimes, I'll make a glaze of powdered sugar, lemon-lime soda, and lemon and lime zest. That's just my personal taste. Again, the 5 stars are for the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele2022
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is a great recipe I added coke instead of 7 up and I put a teaspoon vanilla and a teaspoon rum extract and I made a caramel glaze and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is a great cake. My family and friends love it and so do I. I also understand fully why you do the butter and sugar for 20 minutes. It really does make a difference. I am a Chef and I just want to say this is now my go to cake when I want to make something good and easy for a small event. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I LOVE this Cake and so do my Family, Friends, and Co-workers. I made it the first time and followed the recipe exactly. I came out perfect. The next time I made it I used Jamaican Ginger Beer (a very strong Ginger ale) in place of the 7-up. I it was even more DELICIOUS (if you can beleive that). Now every time there is some sort of gathering I am asked to bring "That Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by V. Low
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made this cake last week for the first time and got rave reviews from family and friends. I did cut the sugar to only 2 cups and added an additional tsp of vanilla extract. Turned out great. Making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I SIMPLY LOVED THIS RECIPE. I wasn't sure of it and because I didn't have any cake flour, I thought it'd be too heavy. But it came out great. I did add the 2 teaspoons of lemon extract and one teaspoon of vanilla extract as one of the other reviews recommended. It was perfect and the lemon cream cheese frosting really made it work. I would have taken a picture, but it was sampled before I could snap a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great recipe however I used a full cup of 7up and next time I will use a 1/2 cup more sugar. Also I didn't pre heat my oven, placing the cake in a cool oven makes a beautiful golden crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I tried this cake and I wasn't all that excited about it. I think I'll make it again sometime and increase the lemon extract alot! It also seemed VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I list my original z7 up cake recipe and tried this one since it was pretty close to my original. It turned out well. I did not cream the butter and sugar for 20 minutes more like 5 to 8 mins. The cake was moist. It took 70 minutes to bake. I have an old school cast iron bundt pan and used bakers joy....the cake came out of the pan easily. I will bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is one of the best pound cakes you’ll find. In fact I just took one out of the oven, for Christmas day. This is the exact recipe I’ve been using for over 30 years. It’s an easy 1 bowl recipe that delivers a wonderful cake, with a crunchy crust (which my family has been known to fight over… lol) and moist interior. I don’t use lemon extract, instead I use an entire 1 ounce bottle of Rum extract. Bring your ingredients to room temperature and creaming the butter and sugar for 8-10 minutes is sufficient; I use a stand mixer on medium. I add the flour to the creamed mixture first, only mixing until incorporated; and then fold in the 7-up with a spatula. Preheat your oven and be sure your Bundt pan holds at least 12 cups, or your cake could ooze over the sides. Grease (not oil) and flour your pan very well; this bugger likes to stick. Let cool in the pan 10 minutes; and then invert onto a wire rack to cool completely. The cake is plenty sweet enough, so a simple dusting of powdered sugar is all it needs, but I wouldn’t turn my nose up to sweetened, fresh berries and whipped cream for a delightful summer dessert. My family and friends beg for this cake… it’s that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States